Could Use Some Help...

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

polleyguitar

Reaction score
So, I've been using the Randall RM series since 2005, when my rep hooked me up with some deals. I've been using them ever since and have had no real problems, until the last few months...

To start, the RM100C is one of the first generation ones, and was the first amp I ordered. I started using the RM4 about 3 years ago and got that new from Randall.

First, my RM100C quit on me. The first thing to go was the MIDI channel switching, then tubes turned blue, then the death rattle. Got the tubes fixed, but the MIDI switching never really came back. It would work for a gig, then quit. Turns out if you don't plug your footswitch in first, it blows a fuse that's not really a fuse*? This makes no sense, but that's not even my biggest gripe.

The RM100C was for smaller bar/club gigs, and I use an RM4 through a Carvin TSL100 for bigger gigs, which have been mostly what I'm playing until the end of October. A few weeks ago, the footswitch started acting weird, resetting itself, like it had a bad connection. If I moved the cable at the pedal, it would connect to the amp, then lose the connection. I pulled the pedal apart, only to discover that the ONLY thing holding the weight and tension of the midi cable is the soldering connections on the plug. There's nothing else to support the cable, in case it gets tripped on or tugged on stage (which happens).