So I bought a Torpedo CAB

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big Daddy

Reaction score
I am recording a CD of a metal band right now. We have spent a LOT of time researching to get that guitar tone that has been popping up more and more regularly on these kind of projects over the last few years.

The best example of what I am talking about is the Ola Englund, Keith Merrow, Jeff Loomis, videos on You Tube. Their tracks have a focus and clarity that really makes the guitar work in a mix without sacrificing tone. We got close, but still didn't make that last leap until Torpedo CAB!

I have been researching one for a few months, with the help of Rob D and Kevin from Ownhammer - if you haven't heard his stuff you are missing out!!! I was planning to buy AFTER I finished this project, because I didn't want to complicate this session, but I got a **** 20% off coupon from GC, had money in Paypal and couldn't pass up the opportunity to save $110.00 on something I was planning on buying anyway. I LOVE a good deal :D

So yeah, I complictated things, but I managed to get that last few percent I was unable to achieve with my mics and 512c's alone. Just using the stock impulses I have found that last little bit of mojo I was looking for. My tracks have that exact quality that I hear in Ola and Keith's stuff that made me pound my fist on my console asking "Why can't I get THAT sound?!?"

The answer my friends, is Torpedo CAB!

According to Rob, Ownhammer's IR's make the stock impluses in the Torpedo CAB sound like Ampfarm :p I"m just waiting on Kevin's recommendations for my particular needs and then I am going to use his stuff with reckless abandon LOL!

For those interested, my signal chain is:

Schecter C-1 with Duncan SH-6's >
JF Snakebite in an RM100H with JJ E34L's>
Mesa Straight Cab with V30's>
using the Slave Out on the RM100H to feed Torpedo CAB>