12ax7 Preamp tube test (VIDEO)

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rilke

Reaction score
Hi fellow MTS'ers!
Recently I undertook a tubetest (6 different tubes) for my V1 position in my rm100 to see how it reacted. As I am a recording engineer I naturally recorded the test to see what the differences were (also to eliminate ANY bias I had towards one tube or another).
The test was through a foglifted Rm100 and a Jaded Faith Erect module, you can check it out here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxmhdtAFYPE&feature=youtu.be

The result is a bit interesting, and much smaller than I had expected. The test was made through reamping a DI to eliminate difference in play from take to take (etc.) Anyways, check it out if you're interested and let me know what you think :)

Btw, the test is pretty documented in the Info under Youtube if you wanna read more :)

Best regards
Christian

Hi Matt!
Thanks a lot!! Yeah, I wholeheartedly agree, VERY subtle differences!! I had expected a more significant change, which might be achieved by changing more tubes than just the V1. Apparently the general thinking (just reiterating here, so don't take my word for it hehe) is that in a tube amp with lots of tubes (a la the rm100), changing one tube yields a smaller degree of sonic change, than for example in a 2 tube 12ax7 amp. Which seems to make some sort of sense at least to me :)

In this case I agree, the amount of compression, gain and brightness (or lack thereof) separates the different tubes by a hairwidth. I can distinguish the differences in a good listening environment, but even there the difference is very minor indeed.
I took great care setting up the experiment so that it should be as biasfree as possible, but it might be interesting to repeat it with a less gainy sound and see what changes might possibly come from that :)
Best regards
Christian

PS.