RM4 with RM22?

Discussion for both Egnater & Randall modular amps

Moderators: guitarguy510, ned

withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

RM4 with RM22?

Post by withmittens » Fri Dec 21, 2018 12:56 pm

How would I connect my RM4 to RM22 to get 6 channels in a studio situation? Is it possible?
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat, TELE

withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

Post by withmittens » Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:03 pm

4CM I guess. any pitfalls with this amp?
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat, TELE

warmachine67
RM100
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:44 pm
Location: Alabama

Post by warmachine67 » Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:00 pm

If you have the money, a transformer upgrade, a foglifter+, and a master volume by Jaded Faith helps the amp run much better and make it more useable.

Other than that, great little amp.

withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

Post by withmittens » Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:03 pm

Thanks, any input on connecting an RM4?
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat, TELE

warmachine67
RM100
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:44 pm
Location: Alabama

Post by warmachine67 » Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:11 pm

Sorry, that I do not. Never had an rm4 and not sure about a 4CM. Perhaps someone has done it with an RM50 since it should be the same.

A Syn1 works fine with a 3CM, but that is no help to you.

If you find out a way, posting here would be a good resource.

6 channels with an RM22 is something I would love to do.

trimix
RM100
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:06 pm
Location: Tucson AZ

Post by trimix » Sat Dec 22, 2018 7:15 am

Get a loop switcher, I use an old Rocktron Loop 8 Floor. Guitar goes to loop 1 input, loop 1 send goes to RM22 input, RM22 send goes to loop 1 return, loop 1 output feeds loop 2 input. Loop 2 send goes to RM4 input, RM4 output goes loop 2 return, loop 2 output goes to RM22 return, or to as many fx loops as you want before the RM22 return. Always select loop 1 or 2 on, never both.
Egnater- M4, SL2X D/S
Randall- RM4, Clean, 1086, Mr Scary, Grail
Salvation- TwinFace, MarkUs
Jaded Faith- Twox, XTC, Custom RVerb
Sacred Groove- Custom SL+
Mesa/Boogie- Simul 395 Stereo
(2) Randall 4x12- X-pattern Vintage 30/G12T-75

withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

Post by withmittens » Wed Dec 26, 2018 10:37 am

I don't know anything about loop switchers. Could I do this same thing with any loop switcher or is there a key feature it needs to have?

There are a few super cheap option out there
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat, TELE

withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

Post by withmittens » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:37 pm

trimix wrote:Get a loop switcher, I use an old Rocktron Loop 8 Floor. Guitar goes to loop 1 input, loop 1 send goes to RM22 input, RM22 send goes to loop 1 return, loop 1 output feeds loop 2 input. Loop 2 send goes to RM4 input, RM4 output goes loop 2 return, loop 2 output goes to RM22 return, or to as many fx loops as you want before the RM22 return. Always select loop 1 or 2 on, never both.
seems from this instruction it can be any loop pedal. The Rocktron has a lot of features, A simple 4 loop switcher is about 80 bucks. would this work?

https://reverb.com/item/3482539-smokin- ... itch-pedal
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat, TELE

tnjazz
RM100
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:57 am
Location: Clearwater, FL
Contact:

Post by tnjazz » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:17 pm

You can also put the RM4 in the loop of the RM22 and use an A/B switch connected to the two inputs.
Yeah I’m still in the game...for now at least...

withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

Post by withmittens » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:23 pm

tnjazz wrote:You can also put the RM4 in the loop of the RM22 and use an A/B switch connected to the two inputs.
this doesn't work for me. I thought that it was because the series loop isn't good for this. maybe mines faulty?

It did work through my RM50's parallel loop
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat, TELE

withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

Post by withmittens » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:35 pm

I'm probably doing it wrong. I had the Parallel loop RM4 out to RM22 return. also tried post loop RM4 out into RM22 return. Series loop out RM4, etc.....

only the RM4 is heard through the RM22. I need to unplug the loop from the RM22 to hear the RM22
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat, TELE

trimix
RM100
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:06 pm
Location: Tucson AZ

Post by trimix » Sat Jan 05, 2019 6:21 am

withmittens wrote:
trimix wrote:Get a loop switcher, I use an old Rocktron Loop 8 Floor. Guitar goes to loop 1 input, loop 1 send goes to RM22 input, RM22 send goes to loop 1 return, loop 1 output feeds loop 2 input. Loop 2 send goes to RM4 input, RM4 output goes loop 2 return, loop 2 output goes to RM22 return, or to as many fx loops as you want before the RM22 return. Always select loop 1 or 2 on, never both.
seems from this instruction it can be any loop pedal. The Rocktron has a lot of features, A simple 4 loop switcher is about 80 bucks. would this work?

https://reverb.com/item/3482539-smokin- ... itch-pedal
Should work with any loop switcher, I prefer a programmable one so one loop turns on when the other turns off and vice versa with one button push. Here's a programmable that would also select channels in the RM4 via MIDI:

https://decibel11.com/products_switch_dr.aspx
Egnater- M4, SL2X D/S
Randall- RM4, Clean, 1086, Mr Scary, Grail
Salvation- TwinFace, MarkUs
Jaded Faith- Twox, XTC, Custom RVerb
Sacred Groove- Custom SL+
Mesa/Boogie- Simul 395 Stereo
(2) Randall 4x12- X-pattern Vintage 30/G12T-75

steelehead
RM20
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 1:48 pm
Location: United States

Post by steelehead » Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:53 pm

trimix? do you have a picture of your wiring setup, this is the kind of pedal i have....true bypass

Image

withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

Post by withmittens » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:09 am

ok, I got a loop pedal. I may have cheaped out and made the mistake of using a single loop pedal. I've hooked it up like this

Amp loop send > pedal input
Pedal send > amp loop return
pedal loop send > RM4 input
pedal loop return > RM4 output

I get signal from both the RM22 and RM4 alternately when I click the looper switch.

The problem here is that when the RM4 is selected it layers that signal over top if the RM22 preamps. BOTH are heard.

IS my RM22 loop broken?
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat, TELE

Mattallica
RM50
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:37 am

Post by Mattallica » Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:01 pm

withmittens wrote:ok, I got a loop pedal. I may have cheaped out and made the mistake of using a single loop pedal. I've hooked it up like this

Amp loop send > pedal input
Pedal send > amp loop return
pedal loop send > RM4 input
pedal loop return > RM4 output

I get signal from both the RM22 and RM4 alternately when I click the looper switch.

The problem here is that when the RM4 is selected it layers that signal over top if the RM22 preamps. BOTH are heard.

IS my RM22 loop broken?
What you have described is how a single loop set up will work. You need two loops to switch between two preamps. The loop pedal input should only be the guitar signal and the loop pedal output should only go to the power amp input (rm22 fx loop return)
RM100, RM20, RM4 & RT2/50
Synergy: BE, VH4
Salvation: Voxyface(dual), Spawn
Egnater: T/D(dual)
Randall: 1086
Self mods: Laney, Orange, Gibson, Hiwatt...

Post Reply