Boss DD-20 delay in the loop?

Discussion for both Egnater & Randall modular amps

Moderators: guitarguy510, ned

Post Reply
Mike361
RM100
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:18 am
Location: MI.

Boss DD-20 delay in the loop?

Post by Mike361 » Wed Apr 30, 2008 5:29 pm

Hello, I am waiting for the Rm50b to arrive and am trying to educate myself on the use of the effect loops. I have read many post and understand that it is line level. My dd-20 can be switched to +4db and I have done that. My question is does that switch the input and output or just the output level?
Cannot find this answered on the boss site. If anyone knows the answer it would be great. I had a Peavey classic 30 and used it in the loop no problems, but That is of course a different amp. As a soon to be owner I
really appreciate this forum and it has really helped.
PS, The U.P.S co is killing me as my new amp has already sat for 2 days in a wharehouse.. just sitting..doing nothing... :(
RM50B
Rm50H
1086
Blackface
1959rr plat
Pete modded SL+
Super V

jmgman70
Donating Member
Posts: 1100
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:27 am
Location: Oxnard,CA

Post by jmgman70 » Wed Apr 30, 2008 5:35 pm

Hey Mike the DD-20 should work fine,another member used one on his mod and it has the same loops and it worked great!

JKD
Donating Member
Posts: 4996
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:25 am
Location: NorCal

Post by JKD » Wed Apr 30, 2008 5:47 pm

The DD-20 worked just fine in the serial or parallel loop of my RM50HB....of course it's not true bypass ... so there is a slight tone change when off.

Mike361
RM100
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:18 am
Location: MI.

Post by Mike361 » Thu May 01, 2008 9:43 am

Thanks, I have a old Peavey Pro-fex that I could use but I would prefer the Boss. If I do use the rack effects, am I ok using instrument cables {guitar}?
RM50B
Rm50H
1086
Blackface
1959rr plat
Pete modded SL+
Super V

jmgman70
Donating Member
Posts: 1100
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:27 am
Location: Oxnard,CA

Post by jmgman70 » Thu May 01, 2008 9:52 am

Mike361 wrote:Thanks, I have a old Peavey Pro-fex that I could use but I would prefer the Boss. If I do use the rack effects, am I ok using instrument cables {guitar}?
In the loops of the rm,yes.

MarcoR
Donating Member
Posts: 907
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 10:47 am
Location: Frederick, MD

Re: Boss DD-20 delay in the loop?

Post by MarcoR » Fri May 02, 2008 9:33 am

Mike361 wrote: My dd-20 can be switched to +4db and I have done that. My question is does that switch the input and output or just the output level?(
I believe that's the input pad.

Hint: Also, set it so output A is dry and output B is wet to run it in the parallel loop.

Amp Send-> Delay In (mono)-> Delay Output B-> Amp return.

Set like this and it doesn't matter that it's not true bypass as the dry signal is not passed, only the wet when the delay is on.

johnmfer
RM20
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 1:48 pm

Post by johnmfer » Fri May 02, 2008 2:59 pm

I run my DD-20 at +4 with both my amps in the series FX loops, works great. If it wasn't for the Boss Tremolo and Tuner pedals, I'd try the parallel idea form MarcoR.
chief beef
Egnater by Rocktron TOL50 w/ Randall R212C
Randall RM50 combo with Top Boost and Brown modules

Mike361
RM100
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 10:18 am
Location: MI.

Post by Mike361 » Sat May 03, 2008 7:58 pm

What a great idea to use the a, mono b, return. Thanks for the tip. I'm sure I will try it different ways to see what sounds best ,but I would not have thought of that.
RM50B
Rm50H
1086
Blackface
1959rr plat
Pete modded SL+
Super V

Post Reply