rm20 questions

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bj4rd

Reaction score
I am kind of new to the rm20 combo and a have a few questions about it.
(1) There is only one bias adjustment for both power tubes and I have one running at 17.5mV and the other at 18.5mV. Is this normal or should these values match more closely?
(2) What is a good way to record silently? I'm not a huge fan of the XLR output, it sounds kind of detached and far away. Right now I am using the line out with SIR reverb.
(3) Has anyone replaced the greenback with a v30 or any other speaker?
(4) The gain boost doesn't seem to add much distortion. Is it using the power tubes or V1 to increase the gain?

Any chance you can post a clip of what it sounds like with the silent recording?

1) depend on tubes, if is really matched pair, then can be closer, but 1mV is not so big problem
2) Advantage of XLR out is easy of use without next things (PC, plugins etc). IMO SIR (with good impuls) can bring better results.
3) speaker is most important influence to sound then everything other (except player himself and riff/lick itself). I?m not afraid to say that speaker is 10x more important then head, tubes, pickups, strings, cables etc). So V30 is right choice for higain sound (but not good clean), GB is more compromising. Best way is have it both (or more :) and used for concrete purpose.
4) by my meaning boost has gain enough.

thanks for answering my questions hyenik. i guess what i meant in question #4 is that i don't hear much change in the distortion when i turn the gain boost up. it has both the volume and gain boost and i guess i expected the gain boost to add more distortion.

bj4rd said: