which stock "clean" mod is best for taking pedals?

MTS module area including module modifications

Moderators: guitarguy510, ned

crev71
RM20

which stock "clean" mod is best for taking pedals?

Post by crev71 » Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:44 pm

I'm new to the whole modular thing and I'm looking to buy a combo and some mods but I definitely want a clean mod that takes pedals really well. Granted I'll probably mod all of my mods but until I have money to do that, which stock clean modules sound the best with pedals?

(sorry if there is already a post about this)

Phantom123
RM20

Post by Phantom123 » Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:28 pm

I'd assume the KH-1 or Clean for a pure, unmovable clean. If you want some native distortion on board, I'd figure a Super V, JTM, or even Plexi.

Vince
RM100

Post by Vince » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:15 am

Personally.... I am blown away by the clean tone of the Blackface.

Mister Joshua
RM100

Post by Mister Joshua » Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:47 am

I like the Blackface with 12AT7 tubes. It is technically a mod but 12AT7 tubes are fairly cheap and easy to install.

As far as pure stock i'd look at the Clean module. It is a great clean sound but lacks the personality of the Blackface or Top Boost to some degree. Only problem with the stock Blacface is that it cracks up somewhat early. Hence the 12AT7's.

Peace, Joshua
Peace, Joshua

eyeball987
Lynch Box

Post by eyeball987 » Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:05 am

I have a KH1 right now that would be a good platform. I had a Blackface and it sounded almost identical but the KH1 can be pushed much more without breaking up. I also have a DLX and while it sounds very good, it will break up pretty early too.

The trick with the clean modules that I have learned is that the higher the master is on the amp then the later they will break up.

Nightdare
Lynch Box

Post by Nightdare » Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:25 am

Question remains: what kind of pedals?

Julia
Lynch Box

Post by Julia » Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:27 pm