Broken Module. Help!

MTS module area including module modifications

Moderators: guitarguy510, ned

Post Reply
NuSkoolTone
RM100
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:25 pm
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY

Broken Module. Help!

Post by NuSkoolTone » Sat Dec 22, 2007 4:24 pm

Hey guys,

I need a little help.

I received a single channel TWIN module today (Merry XMAS to me!) that doesn't work.

It will pass signal if I crank the amp, all the knobs appears to work, except for one thing.

The tubes do NOT glow, they seem to be getting some juice because they get slightly warm, but nothing like my other modules. I've tried swapping tubes so that's not it.

Assuming it was working before shipped, I figure a solder joint needs to be reflowed somewhere.

Anyone have suggestions on where to start?

I emailed egnater, but being saturday and the holidays I'd rather PLAY my new toy on Christmas rather than stare at it wishing I could!

Thanks.
This is where you write stuff no one reads anyway.

NuSkoolTone
RM100
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:25 pm
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY

Post by NuSkoolTone » Sat Dec 22, 2007 11:41 pm

Update: I put shortplate tubes in there and they DO glow, the long plates I had in before were just hiding the fact. So I don't think it's a tube problem.

However there is still VERY low sound. If I CRANK the amp I can hear the guitar ever so slightly and the tone knobs work. The only knob that doesn't really do anything is the master.
This is where you write stuff no one reads anyway.

NuSkoolTone
RM100
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:25 pm
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY

Post by NuSkoolTone » Sun Dec 23, 2007 12:48 pm

It appears it was a bad pot. The old one didn't even measure! I put in a test pot and the module appears to work.

Thanks to Bruce for his assistance. Now all I need is a replacement so I can put in the proper pot.
This is where you write stuff no one reads anyway.

okstrat
Lynch Box
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by okstrat » Mon Dec 24, 2007 10:37 am

NuSkoolTone wrote:It appears it was a bad pot. The old one didn't even measure! I put in a test pot and the module appears to work.

Thanks to Bruce for his assistance. Now all I need is a replacement so I can put in the proper pot.
Mouser sells replacement pots - be sure and get one for a PCB, and I *think* they are 16mm. I can find out for sure when I get home today - I'm stuck at work. What value is the pot you need? I *might* have one in my parts bin, if so I can send it to you.

Pete

NuSkoolTone
RM100
Posts: 152
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:25 pm
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY

Post by NuSkoolTone » Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:32 pm

okstrat wrote:
NuSkoolTone wrote:It appears it was a bad pot. The old one didn't even measure! I put in a test pot and the module appears to work.

Thanks to Bruce for his assistance. Now all I need is a replacement so I can put in the proper pot.
Mouser sells replacement pots - be sure and get one for a PCB, and I *think* they are 16mm. I can find out for sure when I get home today - I'm stuck at work. What value is the pot you need? I *might* have one in my parts bin, if so I can send it to you.

Pete
Hey thanks Pete. I'm looking for 500k, 1M, and possible 2M audio taper.

I'm thinking of a couple values if my thinking is correct. I notice the Randall blackface calls for 1MA Output in addition to a 1MA gain knob on the PCB layouts at grailtone(Assuming they're accurate). Does this affect the tone or just give more output? If it's just output, I'm thinking to up it to a 1MA, and put a 2MA (If they make it) on my top boost.
This is where you write stuff no one reads anyway.

Post Reply