Get an EVH 5150 blue channel sound with BE/BB?

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Parker22nd

Reaction score
I'm new to the Synergy world and my current rig is based around the ENGL Savage and the BE/BB in my Syn-2. This rig was designed to replace my EVH 5150 iii 50 watt and the Engl module is like a meaner red channel of the 5150 and a meaner than mean channel so my high gain appetite is satisfied and so is the BB component of the BE/BB for the clean sound. However, I miss the blue channel of my 5150, as the BE gain maxed doesn't nail what the blue channel does with its gain halfway up for lead guitar/delayed/chorused sounds. Other than a maxed gain, my bass, middle and treble are 8/8.5/8.5, respectively. Am I missing something here?

Are you trying to match the tone of the blue channel or the amount of gain?
If it's the tone, you might want to back off the controls and bring up the volume, the tone will change quite a bit.
If it's the gain, you might need a different mod.

Mostly tone - I want a tighter tone. So would it sound reasonable that I turn the bass/mid/treble controls back to like 5 and increase the volume accordingly? Gain isn't quite as important - although I'll take as much as I can get out of this thing.