NGD! Explorer (African Padauk)

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LunatiBSW

Reaction score
I built about 70% of this lovely lefty beast. I am a luthier in training :)
Deep set neck, solid body 1.5" thick African Padauk exotic wood.
Sperzel locking tuners, Solid billet brass bridge with locking saddles and locking bridge also. String through with G&L aluminum ferrule block for a little extra. 24.75" scale like gibson but I blended the heel and made the reach better. Ebony Fingerboard with Jescar Gold EVO XJ frets. Gold MOP inlays. Graphtech Tusq XL 42mm nut. Thinner than a gibson neck profile.
-EMG 81X/85X "for the heavy metals."
-Tung Oil finish
IMG_0088-1.jpg

IMG_0081-1.jpg

IMG_0082.jpg

IMG_0083.jpg

DAAAAMN! That looks awesome. Love the wood choice. How does it play/sound? Also any recommended resources for learning how to build guitars? Especially any tips on working with the exotic wood (if there are any special considerations). I am interested in the art myself. Haven't gotten a chance to experiment yet but the ideas are still there. Anyway...great looking guitar. I'd definitely love to own one like it (it would have to be righty though).

edit: also...love the gold hardware :D

Take Care,
John

I really like the look of that. Great job. I especially like the control cavity cover also. Is that a laminate over a plastic control cover or an actual piece of wood?

Hamner1 said:
I really like the look of that. Great job. I especially like the control cavity cover also. Is that a laminate over a plastic control cover or an actual piece of wood?

Thanks for the kind words, I put alot of time into this.
As for the cover, I dont skimp on my builds. Its from the same Padauk slab, planned down and recessed in the control cavity.

JKMV12 said:
DAAAAMN! That looks awesome. Love the wood choice. How does it play/sound?