Issue with 1989 Randall RG100ES

Discussion area for other Randall amps

Moderators: guitarguy510, ned

Post Reply
sAvAgE
RM20
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:33 am

Issue with 1989 Randall RG100ES

Post by sAvAgE » Mon Oct 06, 2008 5:30 am

I seem to be having an issue with my Randall Amp. I am the original owner of the amp and this is the issue I am having.

From other communities it seems to be a known issue. just wondering if there is a known fix to rectify the situation. There seems to be a Channel leak on the amp.


Here is a Video Demo Explaining what the issue is

here is the vid if you need more information on the issue that is happening I can do another demo

http://68.150.160.253/

xodus
RM20
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:03 pm

Post by xodus » Fri Dec 12, 2008 2:51 pm

I am also having a LEAK problem.

I just bought a fs-5 foot switch,
I can have clean on with no PROB.
but once I hit the switch I get OD and Clean together

OBVIOUSLY this is NOT GOOD

has anyone given you solutions????
PLEASE HELP!!!!!!

xodus
RM20
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:03 pm

Post by xodus » Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:09 pm

I did find this link
seems to maybe solve the issue
http://home.earthlink.net/~marcelroy/ge ... ndall.html

but if anyone else has solutions
PLEASE HELP!!!!

filthyfknjames
RM20
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2008 11:47 pm
Location: Hazel Park, MI
Contact:

Post by filthyfknjames » Thu Dec 25, 2008 11:59 pm

I took my rg100es in to be cleaned a few years ago and was told the leak is normal for this model.
Once I got my foot switch, it practically disappeared.
Now, yesterday on the Dean forums, someone said that as long as you keep the six pin connector for the foot switch clean it is less noticeable. He goes into great detail about it.
Here is the link:
http://www.deanguitars.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=43346
Oddly enough, I found that link Googling how to clean rack gear.

Hope this helps :) [/url]

jdr94
RM50
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:26 pm

Post by jdr94 » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:10 am

i read this, but not sure if that really helps since he doesnt say how to do it.
http://mtsforum.grailtone.com/viewtopic ... hter+board

graptemys
RM20
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:16 pm

Foot switch

Post by graptemys » Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:37 am

The 6 pin footswitch wears out over time. A few people I know with this amp had to replace the 6 pin on the amp and footswitch in order to correct the problem with bleed over. That piece is hard to find but at least one company still sells those parts. They are a few dollars each.

Led Hendriani
RM20
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 4:57 am
Location: Northern California

Post by Led Hendriani » Tue Jan 11, 2011 6:17 pm

i read this, but not sure if that really helps since he doesnt say how to do it.
http://mtsforum.grailtone.com/viewtopic ... hter+board


At the bottom he updates and says that he thinks the problem is a wire quality issue.

I just traded for a RG80112SC and noticed that with the footswitch plugged in it was dropping the sound intermittently just a bit, but no problem without the footswitch and so was looking at wiring up my own cable (that can be shorter than the original).

I will definitely look into cleaning it first and also checking to see that both plug and jack don't have any issues like being spread too far apart or shorted wires at any ends.

I have a KMD 60 that has a hardwired footswitch so that also is another option since it works, just need to make sure and use the proper strain relief after cutting another hole or fixing a plate with a hole and strain relief to cover the rectangular hole where the jack is now...

Post Reply