What values do you bias kt77's and kt88's

Discussion for both Egnater & Randall modular amps

Moderators: guitarguy510, ned

Post Reply
hmic10
RM100
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:11 pm

What values do you bias kt77's and kt88's

Post by hmic10 » Fri May 04, 2012 10:06 am

Got a pair would like to try them out ,
What is the ma's for them?

rblyn
Lynch Box
Posts: 958
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:10 am
Location: SoCal

Post by rblyn » Fri May 04, 2012 10:17 am

Dont know about the KT77's. I LOVE the KT88's either by themselves or paired with EL34's. I have an awesome tech here in town- He measured plate voltage, check tubes specs etc and told me the keep the KT88's at 47.5ma. I've got a post somewhere in here about that....pretty much says the same thing. Also- If you are going to use these for low volume- they will not sound that great- You have to be in a live situation and push the master a bit. Once they open up, the sound is HUGE, especially through a full stack.
RM100/GT KT88's/Winged C EL34's x 2
RM20CP
Randall XL 4x12 x2/Boss GT10
"only the best" mods!

hmic10
RM100
Posts: 246
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:11 pm

Post by hmic10 » Fri May 04, 2012 12:32 pm

Thanks for the info !!

Kapo_Polenton
Lynch Box
Posts: 1396
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 12:11 pm

Post by Kapo_Polenton » Fri May 04, 2012 7:46 pm

KT77's are supposed to bias in the same range as EL34's and KT88's closer to the 6550 range. That said, in theory you should start with your plate voltage in order to get an idea of what 70% of the tubes operating range will be. I am sure you could find out what Randall's plate voltage is but I would guess somewhere around the 400 range. But generally speaking EL34's will be in that 35-45 mA range without getting too crazy hot and burning out. USe something like this to get an idea: http://www.rogb.dk/tools/bias.html

I have my 6550's in my Marshall running at about 53 mA but plate voltage was 367.
Last edited by Kapo_Polenton on Fri May 04, 2012 7:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JKD
Donating Member
Posts: 5009
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:25 am
Location: NorCal

Post by JKD » Fri May 04, 2012 7:51 pm

My RM50 Plate Voltage is usually around 515...but can go up to 525
Synergy - HBE,SLO,VH4,TDLX,Plexi, ENGL,OS,BB/BE,AC, Savage, VAI
Salvation-Deadplate, Spawn, MarkUS, Dual Salvado+Terrier
JF-Dual Erect
Gigmods - Mark
Hilly-Snorkeler
Egnater -COD, ERECT, VX
Randall - Brahma,Scary, Grail, SuperV

Kapo_Polenton
Lynch Box
Posts: 1396
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 12:11 pm

Post by Kapo_Polenton » Fri May 04, 2012 7:53 pm

Yikes! That's crazy high.. didn't know these were running that high voltage wise. I should get a reading of mine some time and see what it is sitting at..

Rod
Lynch Box
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:42 pm
Location: Seacoast NH/Southern Maine
Contact:

Post by Rod » Sat Jun 16, 2012 9:19 pm

See next post...sorry
Last edited by Rod on Sun Jun 17, 2012 1:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rod
Lynch Box
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:42 pm
Location: Seacoast NH/Southern Maine
Contact:

Post by Rod » Sat Jun 16, 2012 9:22 pm

So in an RM 50, what should I be biasing my KT88 and KT77 tubes at?
What your guys favorite brand KT88's?
Should the bias calculater be set at 515 volts?

kc2eeb
Lynch Box
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Egnater / Randall Modular Amps

Post by kc2eeb » Sun Jun 17, 2012 5:52 am

Average plate voltage is 505-525 depending on line voltage.

Rod
Lynch Box
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:42 pm
Location: Seacoast NH/Southern Maine
Contact:

Re: Egnater / Randall Modular Amps

Post by Rod » Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:21 am

kc2eeb wrote:Average plate voltage is 505-525 depending on line voltage.
Thanks KC2eeb... How are things in Claremont these days?...My RM50's are holding together so far or I'd be out to see you...I keep waiting for that burn trace board thing to happen but ok so far....Should I get the repair done at some time just for good measure?

kc2eeb
Lynch Box
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Egnater / Randall Modular Amps

Post by kc2eeb » Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:43 am

Hi Rod,
Claremont is..........Claremont.
Far as the RM50 goes, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" applies.
What I would do is take the chassis out and see if it's one that Randall
either cut away the foil from inside the output tube area and filled with epoxy
OR a board that has the foil altered from the factory in China. The latter I've only seen on a "new" RT2/50 power amp board I got from Randall last year.

See:
http://mtsforum.grailtone.com/viewtopic ... m50+repair
Last edited by kc2eeb on Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rod
Lynch Box
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:42 pm
Location: Seacoast NH/Southern Maine
Contact:

Re: Egnater / Randall Modular Amps

Post by Rod » Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:51 am

I'll do that thanks... From what I recall, both my RM50's were made in Korea...

kc2eeb
Lynch Box
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Egnater / Randall Modular Amps

Post by kc2eeb » Sun Jun 17, 2012 9:18 am

Yep,
Both my RM50 and RT2/50 are Korean also. Yours may have been altered already. Also, a very important place to look for any carbonizing is the blade connector strip at the top of the board where the HV comes from the power supply board(white wires) and connect to the output transformer and screen grid resistors.
http://mtsforum.grailtone.com/viewtopic ... m50+repair

Rod
Lynch Box
Posts: 1034
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:42 pm
Location: Seacoast NH/Southern Maine
Contact:

Post by Rod » Sun Jun 17, 2012 5:57 pm

Thanks for putting that link up with all the pictures. It's much appreciated!

kc2eeb
Lynch Box
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 2:32 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Egnater / Randall Modular Amps

Post by kc2eeb » Sun Jun 17, 2012 6:03 pm

You're welcome. Pics I took while working on my amp.

Post Reply