MTS Forum Forum Index
Discussion forum for Synergy, Egnater & Randall MTS Amps & Modules
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Got My SYN 2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Synergy Amps & Modules
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ricky
Lynch Box


Joined: 20 Sep 2011
Posts: 851
Location: Bozeman, MT

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:28 am    Post subject: Got My SYN 2 Reply with quote

This thing is f*ing cool. I don't have any dual modules but my old JF and Salvation stuff sounds great in it. I have a MOD50 and that functions the best at this point as it is MIDI. I am kind of stupid when it comes to this stuff, but with a little help from JKD it was pretty damn easy to add two more channels to the MOD 50 and also be able to use my Digitech GSP1101 4CM. SO using that set up, I can keep all of my FX and switch between SYN 2 modules plus bypass the SYN 2 and use the other two modules from the MOD 50. I used to use an RM4 and a Carvin tube power amp for a live rig but that took up a ridiculous amount of real estate. Now I can use basically three rack spaces and have four channels of whatever the hell I want.. I also have a JF modded RM50 that I use and as it is not MIDI, I will have to re-think some of the switching, but I have some ideas. I am really glad that I went ahead with this purchase. My hat goes off to Bruce Egnater for finally getting this done. So many tonal choices.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rising Farce
Lynch Box


Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 715
Location: Gamecock Country

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This has likely been covered previously, but does the MOD 50 allow you to switch between the two channels of each Synergy module in the same way you would with an Egnater dual module (i.e., using the four-button footswitch)? I'm curious, as I'm considering grabbing a MOD 50 or 100 as a cheaper alternative to the Synergy 50-watt head.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ricky
Lynch Box


Joined: 20 Sep 2011
Posts: 851
Location: Bozeman, MT

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't own any dual modules, but it seems that from what everyone says, yes, the midi pedal allows you to switch between the two channels of the dual mod. It would be as simple as pushing the button until it blinks and then switching to the other side of the module and doing the same thing. Pretty simple to program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rising Farce
Lynch Box


Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 715
Location: Gamecock Country

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ricky wrote:
I don't own any dual modules, but it seems that from what everyone says, yes, the midi pedal allows you to switch between the two channels of the dual mod. It would be as simple as pushing the button until it blinks and then switching to the other side of the module and doing the same thing. Pretty simple to program.


Great, thanks for the info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JKD
Donating Member


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 4852
Location: NorCal

PostPosted: Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad it's working out for you!

The SYN-2 is the best piece of hardware since the original modular concept...the manufacturers modules are the icing on the Synergy cake!
_________________
Synergy - BE,HBE,DS,SLO,VH4,TDLX,Metro
Salvation-Deadplate, Spawn, MarkUS, Dual Salvado+JJ Dirt+Terrier
JF-Dual MachX+Voxless+ERect+MarkX
Gigmods - Mark
Hilly-Snorkeler
Egnater -COD
Randall - Brahma,Scary, Grail, SuperV
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
germanium
RM20


Joined: 04 Nov 2017
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am tempted to get a RM4 rack, which I thought gave the most versatility in tone. But now I think it's better to keep up with new technology, better invest in the Syn2 since it gives the most advantage. Still I have some questions: Can the old Egnater modules be channel switched in the Syn2? Do the old modules sond better in the Syn2 rack? Could a new Synergy module be channel switched with a midi modded RM4?
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ricky
Lynch Box


Joined: 20 Sep 2011
Posts: 851
Location: Bozeman, MT

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't notice much difference in sound between using the old modules in the SYN 2. They all sound great. I am not sure but I am pretty sure that the old dual mods can be switched on and off in the SYN 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blindmuddy
RM20


Joined: 26 Aug 2013
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

they switch fine in the syn 1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
webrthomson
Donating Member


Joined: 01 May 2012
Posts: 388
Location: Glasgow (UK)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

germanium wrote:
I am tempted to get a RM4 rack, which I thought gave the most versatility in tone. But now I think it's better to keep up with new technology, better invest in the Syn2 since it gives the most advantage. Still I have some questions: Can the old Egnater modules be channel switched in the Syn2? Do the old modules sond better in the Syn2 rack? Could a new Synergy module be channel switched with a midi modded RM4?
Thanks!


All the older Egnater dual sound (dual channel modules) and hardware can switch the Synergy modules and vice-versa.

TBH I'd go for a SYN2 - they are pretty amazing - if you want more modules and dont care about expanding an existing amp then get a Egnater M4 they are dual module out the box Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrismilne
RM100


Joined: 19 Aug 2015
Posts: 128
Location: Ashburn, VA

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you know if you can use the XLR Directout with cab sim, but also record the other output without cab sim (at the same time). So you can monitor with the cab sim version but record without and use an IR in your DAW later? Tried to ask Synergy but there is confusion on what of our end

Thanks.
_________________
Synergy: Syn-2, SLO, Metroplex
Randall: JTM, Clean, Blackface
Egnater: EG2
Strymon Flint and Mobius, TC Triple Delay, JHS Andy Timmons, Kemper, Ventris, Koko Boost, Carl Martin AT Compressor, Proanalog MKIV Fuzz, Ibanez TS9dx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JKD
Donating Member


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 4852
Location: NorCal

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chrismilne wrote:
Do you know if you can use the XLR Directout with cab sim, but also record the other output without cab sim (at the same time). So you can monitor with the cab sim version but record without and use an IR in your DAW later? Tried to ask Synergy but there is confusion on what of our end

Thanks.


The Main Outs are full range and do not have the Cab Sim, only the XLR..so I am guessing this would work exactly as you described.
_________________
Synergy - BE,HBE,DS,SLO,VH4,TDLX,Metro
Salvation-Deadplate, Spawn, MarkUS, Dual Salvado+JJ Dirt+Terrier
JF-Dual MachX+Voxless+ERect+MarkX
Gigmods - Mark
Hilly-Snorkeler
Egnater -COD
Randall - Brahma,Scary, Grail, SuperV
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Synergy Amps & Modules All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group