MTS Forum Forum Index
Discussion forum for Synergy, Egnater & Randall MTS Amps & Modules
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Synergy VS Egnater : cathode switch
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Synergy Amps & Modules
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
max44
RM20


Joined: 17 Jul 2017
Posts: 45
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder too, my later dual channel M4 has indeed 2 tubes : one 12AX7 and one 12AT7 ...
_________________
Egnater M4 + duals : TD/BMAN/SL2X
Salvation : C-Watt/Humble/MashAll+/Salvado/Xtacy
Jaded Faith : Voxless/Grailtone/MachX/Texas Special
Randall RT2/50 Jaded Faith Foglifted + NFB
Randall RM1250
Home crafted guitars
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusiciansFriend.com's Deal Center
MarcoR
Donating Member


Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 895
Location: Frederick, MD

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

max44 wrote:
I wonder too, my later dual channel M4 has indeed 2 tubes : one 12AX7 and one 12AT7 ...


I believe V2 is the output buffer on the dual M4. Synergy probably didn't go for a tube driven buffer to save some space?
_________________
Synergy: SYN2, Friedman DS, HBE
Self Modded: Egnater B'Man, SL2X
Amps: VHT 2/50/2, RM50, Landry LS100 G3, Splawn Quick Rod, Marshall 6100LM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
max44
RM20


Joined: 17 Jul 2017
Posts: 45
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok,
And do you know which one is V1 ?

Top/right tube emplacement is labelled 12AT7
Bottom/left tube emplacement is labelled 12AX7
But actually both tubes were the same (12AX7) and the same model as in all of my modules (stock and mods) : Sovtek 7025 / 12AX7WA

I tried different tubes in both emplacements :
- Electro-Harmonix 12AX7EH : they give more gain overall ... good for hi-gain modules
- TAD 12AX7 A-C : I like these as they seem to "open" every module, and specially the low/mid gain modules for blues sounds (T/D - COD ...)
_________________
Egnater M4 + duals : TD/BMAN/SL2X
Salvation : C-Watt/Humble/MashAll+/Salvado/Xtacy
Jaded Faith : Voxless/Grailtone/MachX/Texas Special
Randall RT2/50 Jaded Faith Foglifted + NFB
Randall RM1250
Home crafted guitars
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maxxstock
RM100


Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 117
Location: EU

PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bottom/left tube emplacement is labelled 12AX7 is V1

12AT7- is buffer
_________________
The aim and final end of all music should be none other than the glory of God and the refreshment of the soul.
"Johann Sebastian Bach"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djdayson
RM100


Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 355

PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Rob!

Any chance you know what the new Synergy Sag control is doing (browning out B+, or?)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
j4q0
RM100


Joined: 26 Feb 2013
Posts: 158
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2018 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaded Faith wrote:
The circuit being switched is inside the Synergy amps and rack units, not on the modules. There are switches on the modules and that setting tells the Synergy amp which setting to use. This allows for different settings to be activated at the module level, but only when used in a Synergy amp. When they are used in a Randall or Egnater amp the Fender (1K5/22uF) setting is used regardless of the switch setting, as that's the only option available inside of those amps.


What circuit is the Synergy hardware (rack or amp) using if you don't use Synergy modules? Is there a default setting that the hardware uses if no Synergy modules is used?
Does the last Synergy module used in a particular hardware sets the input circuit for all future non-Synergy mods to use until a new Synergy module is used?
_________________
Good deals: http://goo.gl/lSJJVT
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaded Faith
Moderator


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 2673
Location: Hamilton, NJ

PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

j4q0 wrote:
Jaded Faith wrote:
The circuit being switched is inside the Synergy amps and rack units, not on the modules. There are switches on the modules and that setting tells the Synergy amp which setting to use. This allows for different settings to be activated at the module level, but only when used in a Synergy amp. When they are used in a Randall or Egnater amp the Fender (1K5/22uF) setting is used regardless of the switch setting, as that's the only option available inside of those amps.


What circuit is the Synergy hardware (rack or amp) using if you don't use Synergy modules? Is there a default setting that the hardware uses if no Synergy modules is used?
Does the last Synergy module used in a particular hardware sets the input circuit for all future non-Synergy mods to use until a new Synergy module is used?


If you use a non-Synergy module a Synergy unit will default to the same circuit as the Randall/Egnater gear.
_________________
www.jadedfaithmods.com
https://www.facebook.com/JadedFaithMods
Email: info@jadedfaithmods.com
Authorized Service Center for US Music and Egnater
Authorized Reseller for Celestion, Scumback & Mercury Magnetics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
eero
RM20


Joined: 18 Oct 2010
Posts: 18
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaded Faith wrote:
The circuit being switched is inside the Synergy amps and rack units, not on the modules. There are switches on the modules and that setting tells the Synergy amp which setting to use. This allows for different settings to be activated at the module level, but only when used in a Synergy amp. When they are used in a Randall or Egnater amp the Fender (1K5/22uF) setting is used regardless of the switch setting, as that's the only option available inside of those amps.


if I understood all this, if for example I had three different amplifiers (Egnater M4, Rocktron VP4 preamp and Egnater MOD50 head) could I decide to modify them each with one of the three different values, respectively?
in this case, depending on which module would be used, could I assign it to the respective preamp with the correct value?
if this were correct, it would be enough to modify the value of the capacities and resistances of the preamp input, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Synergy Amps & Modules All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group