MTS Forum Forum Index
Discussion forum for Synergy, Egnater & Randall MTS Amps & Modules
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

SYN-2 and SYN 50/50 question: Can I do this?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Synergy Amps & Modules
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 202
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 9:05 am    Post subject: SYN-2 and SYN 50/50 question: Can I do this? Reply with quote

OK, yet another question.

I would like to run one channel of the SYN-50/50 to a speaker cab, and the other to my Two Notes Torpedo Live for in-ear monitoring (until I get my previous question about 4CM FX through the DI figured out).

Do I just run the SYN-2 outputs into the 50/50 in "stereo" or dual mono, and hook up the cab to output A and the Torpedo to output B? If I use both sides of the 50/50 in this way, BOTH outputs would require a speaker load, correct?

If I'm thinking this through correctly, that would give me independent volume control for A and B, so in theory I could turn my speaker down entirely if I wanted to do silent only in-ear monitoring?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MusiciansFriend.com's Deal Center
teofilrocks
RM20


Joined: 10 Dec 2017
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds about right to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 202
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, thanks!

Just basically wanted to confirm that if I ran the power amp in stereo and ran to 2 different sources, that both sources needed a load.

Would it be the same in dual mono mode (not bridged) ?

Ideally I'd like to run the DI out to the Two Notes from the SYN-2 directly and retain the option of stereo out or bridged to the cab from the power amp, but until I figure out how to get the FX in there as well that isn't an option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
teofilrocks
RM20


Joined: 10 Dec 2017
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure I'm totally following what you're asking about. Maybe if you described your use-cases more?

The Two Notes can take a line in from the SYN2 or a speaker input from the SYN 5050. It also has a speaker thru so you can keep a speaker connected and bypass the Live's load.

The SYN 5050 has standby controls for both channels. So you don't have to have a speaker connected to channel B if you keep B in standby. Or if you are in bridged mode (which bypasses the channel B input and speaker out).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 202
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to send a mono signal to a speaker cab, and the same mono signal to the Two Notes.

I know I can go Thru on the Two Notes but I thought it might be easier to send one side of the power amp straight to the speaker and the other side directly to the Two Notes.

That way Volume A could control my cab volume independently and I could leave volume B set for optimal volume to my in ear signal.

Trying to minimize my knob turning in a live setting is my goal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
webrthomson
Donating Member


Joined: 01 May 2012
Posts: 396
Location: Glasgow (UK)

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Two Notes Torpedo Live will take a 100 watt load why not just run the 50/50 into it in mono and take the signal off the Two Notes Torpedo Live for your IEM's?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 202
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I could, but I feel like Iíd have more control coming directly off the amp. Just wondering if itís a workable option.

Again ideally Iíd use the DI out of the SYN-2 for ears and skip the Torpedo entirely but I havenít got the cab emulation signal figured out yet with the AX8 in 4CM (separate thread)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Synergy Amps & Modules All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group