MTS Forum Forum Index
Discussion forum for Synergy, Egnater & Randall MTS Amps & Modules
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RM50 suddenly not working? Any help?
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Egnater / Randall Modular Amps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mattfig
Donating Member


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 5686
Location: Hurtling through space on a wet rock.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reading the schematic there should be 4 fuses visible...

Do you see them?
_________________
Matt Fig -
MotorCity Mods
www.motorcitymods.com

Kemper Profiles -
www.mattfig.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see 5.

4 in a group near the power jack and one straight back from the common test point.

Kinda nervous about sticking my multimeter probes in there though. I donít want to die inside a $300 amp...gotta be at least a Trainwreck or something.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
warmachine67
RM50


Joined: 20 Apr 2017
Posts: 86
Location: Alabama

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't do this if you are unsure or feel unsafe.

Leave the standby switch on and turn the amp off. This will drain the capacitors. Then just leave it unplugged for a few minutes and then you should b ok.

Then you can test your fuses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mattfig
Donating Member


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 5686
Location: Hurtling through space on a wet rock.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

warmachine67 wrote:
Don't do this if you are unsure or feel unsafe.

Leave the standby switch on and turn the amp off. This will drain the capacitors. Then just leave it unplugged for a few minutes and then you should b ok.

Then you can test your fuses.


Screw this guy! Do it!

I'm joking of course....PLEASE don't dig around in there unless you feel secure in doing so....Draining the caps as mentioned above and checking the fuses is very easy and presents little danger unless you are very clumsy.... Smile
_________________
Matt Fig -
MotorCity Mods
www.motorcitymods.com

Kemper Profiles -
www.mattfig.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
warmachine67
RM50


Joined: 20 Apr 2017
Posts: 86
Location: Alabama

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mattfig,

I'm curious, what exactly do those internal fuses do in broad terms?

I've always wondered. Are there 4 or 5?

Thanks !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I pulled all 5 and they all test OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Mattfig
Donating Member


Joined: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 5686
Location: Hurtling through space on a wet rock.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In broad terms? I couldn't explain in better terms....Basically the protect different parts of the amp....Trasnformers....Power Supply....And preamp modules...

Is there a fuse you see near the modules???
_________________
Matt Fig -
MotorCity Mods
www.motorcitymods.com

Kemper Profiles -
www.mattfig.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No other fuses I can see anywhere inside the chassis.

I even tested the two removable ones on the back panel and they are fine as well.

I'm stumped. But that is no surprise since beyond this I have no idea what I am looking at, ha!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pretty sure this is a higher power's way of telling me "just stop goofing around and buy that Synergy SYN-2 already"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No issues whatsoever with this amp until I put in this Savation module and hooked it up to the Torpedo Live. I don't know how either one could cause this but it seems odd.

The LED on the Salvation module is out but it appeared to be working properly (and sounded great), as was the Two Notes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the RM50 is headed off to my local tech tonight. I have a funny feeling that 10 minutes on the bench will fix whatever is going on with this thing.

In the meantime, the Synergy rig will be landing in my hot little hands tomorrow so I'm pretty excited about that!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
warmachine67
RM50


Joined: 20 Apr 2017
Posts: 86
Location: Alabama

PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you think about, let us know what it was.

I'm still curious. Congrats on the synergy btw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

warmachine67 wrote:
If you think about, let us know what it was.

I'm still curious. Congrats on the synergy btw.



According to my amp guy, the issue was a bad voltage regulator in the switching circuit. It's apparently all well and good now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnjazz wrote:
warmachine67 wrote:
If you think about, let us know what it was.

I'm still curious. Congrats on the synergy btw.



According to my amp guy, the issue was a bad voltage regulator in the switching circuit. It's apparently all well and good now.


Further update on this: the channel switching relay turned out to have an intermittent fault which caused the issues with the voltage regulator. With a higher quality relay installed the amp is back to 100% again.

Huge props to Mattfig for providing me with the schematics to the amp! They were a tremendous help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
warmachine67
RM50


Joined: 20 Apr 2017
Posts: 86
Location: Alabama

PostPosted: Thu Feb 08, 2018 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for posting what happened.

Glad you got it worked out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Egnater / Randall Modular Amps All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group