Improving sound of direct RT2/50 recording?

Discussion for both Egnater & Randall modular amps

Moderators: guitarguy510, ned

Post Reply
withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

Improving sound of direct RT2/50 recording?

Post by withmittens » Sat Apr 14, 2018 7:38 am

I've set up to record using RM4 & RT2/50. I have the RM4 to a mono track with Wall of Sound cabinet vst. This sounds pretty good but really takes some serious tweaking to get it right. I haven't fully perfected the tone yet. There are so many settings on the WOS that each tweak effects the sound very strongly. Is the Torpedo device better or is it just the vst contained in a self running box?

anyone have suggestions on how to best use the WOS vst? I just keep tweaking to no end

Then, I have the RT2/50 into a Weber Mass 100 for direct Amp to DAW into Wall of Sound vst , no Power amp IR

Overall the sound is okay. not bad but not really full and refined like a recording should be. There are some odd artifacts such as the treble frequencies coming through a bit rough. This are the higher frequency distortions from the MTS preamps, not the recording interface.

Des anyone have any input on how to get a better sound using this kid of setup?

Is the Mass 100 maybe not the best, so I'm fighting against something I can't change? It has the tone stack for Direct recording. I'm not sure about the quality of it's sound. Other than that, maybe it's just my settings...

Digi 002 rack into Reaper.

I could set up a microphone to compare, really trying to keep it silent

thanks
Last edited by withmittens on Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat

Nightdare
Lynch Box
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:23 pm
Location: The Neverlands

Post by Nightdare » Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:30 am

My first guess would be to get some kind of poweramp simulation going as well
Tone is the sum of all parts, and you're missing a piece

withmittens
Lynch Box
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sun May 13, 2012 12:37 pm
Location: Beacon, NY
Contact:

Post by withmittens » Wed Apr 18, 2018 7:33 am

the signal from the RM4 into WOS is using the power amp sim, the signal from the RT2/50 into WOS is not
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat

Post Reply