RM 1250 + duals midi switching

Discussion for both Egnater & Randall modular amps

Moderators: guitarguy510, ned

AdInfinitum
RM100
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:53 pm

Post by AdInfinitum » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:58 pm

warmachine67 wrote:The 1250 can accept duals without any modification, somehow it came from the factory that way.

Max44, many thanks for that cc# info. I’ve been pondering what to do since I got the synergy duals running in mine. Sounds like I just need to get a behringer or Roland midi foot controller now.
Holy Guacamole! I have a 1250 and plenty of Dual modules. Never even thought to try them in the 1250. Thanks for that intel.

tnjazz
RM100
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:57 am
Location: Hermitage, TN
Contact:

Post by tnjazz » Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:10 am

Trying to get MIDI switching working properly on this thing is giving me fits!

More likely I just don't understand how to configure it, being a MIDI novice and all that. PC messages were easy and flawless with my other amps. This CC thing has really got me puzzled though.

I'm starting to wonder if maybe my controller isn't capable of properly switching, even though it says it's capable of sending CC messages. It works, but it's erratic at best.

I'm curious how many people here have 1250's and what controller you're using for MIDI switching?
Well it’s been fun...!

warmachine67
RM100
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 7:44 pm
Location: Alabama

Post by warmachine67 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:54 am

I’m no help Dirk, but when and where did you find a 1250?

You are truly into the rabbit hole now :)

tnjazz
RM100
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:57 am
Location: Hermitage, TN
Contact:

Post by tnjazz » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:53 am

warmachine67 wrote:I’m no help Dirk, but when and where did you find a 1250?

You are truly into the rabbit hole now :)
Rob hooked me up last week. Not entirely sure this monstrosity is for me though. I'm still exploring whether or not it will do what I need. If I can get the switching figured out I think it will make a great studio amp. Otherwise maybe I'll just stick with the other MTS stuff I have and let someone else have a go...

I could get by with the manual cycling through for what my intended use is, but I'd much rather have it foot switchable. My Fractal doesn't seem to want to operate it correctly though so I'm wondering if it's a problem with the way it's sending CCs. Might pick up another controller and see if that fixes my issues.

When I go, I go all out LOL
Well it’s been fun...!

tnjazz
RM100
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:57 am
Location: Hermitage, TN
Contact:

Post by tnjazz » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:45 am

Has anyone here besides Max gotten MIDI switching working properly on the RM1250?

I'm about ready to pay someone to help me get this thing working...so far the Fractal forum has not been very helpful.
Well it’s been fun...!

tnjazz
RM100
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:57 am
Location: Hermitage, TN
Contact:

Post by tnjazz » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:47 am

Ok, now I’m even more confused by what I’ve done. I actually have it working and switching properly with my FX8 but I’m forced to use the two MIDI blocks and it’s responding to program changes (0-23) rather than control change messages?

Can anyone here help and provide some words of MIDI wisdom? If nothing else I’d love to know why it works this way because it’s baffling me. I’ve read both sets of manuals repeatedly and googled for the last week and I’m still in the dark. Only blind luck has gotten me this far...
Well it’s been fun...!

Post Reply