MTS Forum Forum Index
Discussion forum for Synergy, Egnater & Randall MTS Amps & Modules
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RM4 with RM22?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Egnater / Randall Modular Amps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
withmittens
Lynch Box


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 1090
Location: Beacon, NY

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 12:56 pm    Post subject: RM4 with RM22? Reply with quote

How would I connect my RM4 to RM22 to get 6 channels in a studio situation? Is it possible?
_________________
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
withmittens
Lynch Box


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 1090
Location: Beacon, NY

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

4CM I guess. any pitfalls with this amp?
_________________
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
warmachine67
RM50


Joined: 20 Apr 2017
Posts: 93
Location: Alabama

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have the money, a transformer upgrade, a foglifter+, and a master volume by Jaded Faith helps the amp run much better and make it more useable.

Other than that, great little amp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
withmittens
Lynch Box


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 1090
Location: Beacon, NY

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, any input on connecting an RM4?
_________________
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
warmachine67
RM50


Joined: 20 Apr 2017
Posts: 93
Location: Alabama

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, that I do not. Never had an rm4 and not sure about a 4CM. Perhaps someone has done it with an RM50 since it should be the same.

A Syn1 works fine with a 3CM, but that is no help to you.

If you find out a way, posting here would be a good resource.

6 channels with an RM22 is something I would love to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trimix
RM100


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 166
Location: Tucson AZ

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get a loop switcher, I use an old Rocktron Loop 8 Floor. Guitar goes to loop 1 input, loop 1 send goes to RM22 input, RM22 send goes to loop 1 return, loop 1 output feeds loop 2 input. Loop 2 send goes to RM4 input, RM4 output goes loop 2 return, loop 2 output goes to RM22 return, or to as many fx loops as you want before the RM22 return. Always select loop 1 or 2 on, never both.
_________________
Randall- RM4, Clean, 1086, Mr Scary, Grail
Egnater- SL2X D/S
Salvation- TwinFace, MarkUs
Jaded Faith- Twox, XTC, Custom RVerb
Sacred Groove- Custom SL+
Mesa/Boogie- Stereo Simul-Class 395
(2) Randall 4x12- X-pattern Vintage 30/G12T-75
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
withmittens
Lynch Box


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 1090
Location: Beacon, NY

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know anything about loop switchers. Could I do this same thing with any loop switcher or is there a key feature it needs to have?

There are a few super cheap option out there
_________________
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
withmittens
Lynch Box


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 1090
Location: Beacon, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

trimix wrote:
Get a loop switcher, I use an old Rocktron Loop 8 Floor. Guitar goes to loop 1 input, loop 1 send goes to RM22 input, RM22 send goes to loop 1 return, loop 1 output feeds loop 2 input. Loop 2 send goes to RM4 input, RM4 output goes loop 2 return, loop 2 output goes to RM22 return, or to as many fx loops as you want before the RM22 return. Always select loop 1 or 2 on, never both.


seems from this instruction it can be any loop pedal. The Rocktron has a lot of features, A simple 4 loop switcher is about 80 bucks. would this work?

https://reverb.com/item/3482539-smokin-amp-co-4-loop-switch-pedal
_________________
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
tnjazz
RM100


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Posts: 216
Location: Hermitage, TN

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also put the RM4 in the loop of the RM22 and use an A/B switch connected to the two inputs.
_________________
Just need one more module...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
withmittens
Lynch Box


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 1090
Location: Beacon, NY

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tnjazz wrote:
You can also put the RM4 in the loop of the RM22 and use an A/B switch connected to the two inputs.


this doesn't work for me. I thought that it was because the series loop isn't good for this. maybe mines faulty?

It did work through my RM50's parallel loop
_________________
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
withmittens
Lynch Box


Joined: 13 May 2012
Posts: 1090
Location: Beacon, NY

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm probably doing it wrong. I had the Parallel loop RM4 out to RM22 return. also tried post loop RM4 out into RM22 return. Series loop out RM4, etc.....

only the RM4 is heard through the RM22. I need to unplug the loop from the RM22 to hear the RM22
_________________
RM22, RM4
CrazyNuts' Dirty Sanchez, DuoPlex, Selma, Supra, Twinface, Evil Kitty, CC30, XTC
SG, LP Std., Strat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
trimix
RM100


Joined: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 166
Location: Tucson AZ

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2019 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

withmittens wrote:
trimix wrote:
Get a loop switcher, I use an old Rocktron Loop 8 Floor. Guitar goes to loop 1 input, loop 1 send goes to RM22 input, RM22 send goes to loop 1 return, loop 1 output feeds loop 2 input. Loop 2 send goes to RM4 input, RM4 output goes loop 2 return, loop 2 output goes to RM22 return, or to as many fx loops as you want before the RM22 return. Always select loop 1 or 2 on, never both.


seems from this instruction it can be any loop pedal. The Rocktron has a lot of features, A simple 4 loop switcher is about 80 bucks. would this work?

https://reverb.com/item/3482539-smokin-amp-co-4-loop-switch-pedal


Should work with any loop switcher, I prefer a programmable one so one loop turns on when the other turns off and vice versa with one button push. Here's a programmable that would also select channels in the RM4 via MIDI:

https://decibel11.com/products_switch_dr.aspx
_________________
Randall- RM4, Clean, 1086, Mr Scary, Grail
Egnater- SL2X D/S
Salvation- TwinFace, MarkUs
Jaded Faith- Twox, XTC, Custom RVerb
Sacred Groove- Custom SL+
Mesa/Boogie- Stereo Simul-Class 395
(2) Randall 4x12- X-pattern Vintage 30/G12T-75
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steelehead
RM20


Joined: 11 Nov 2018
Posts: 21
Location: United States

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

trimix? do you have a picture of your wiring setup, this is the kind of pedal i have....true bypass

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Egnater / Randall Modular Amps All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group