Syn 2 + Syn 2

Area for the Synergy line of amps and modules
Post Reply
werdna
RM50
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 4:46 am

Syn 2 + Syn 2

Post by werdna » Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:19 pm

I want to run four Syn modules at a time, and have them programmed so that I am able to midi footswitch from one channel to each of the other seven and back. Could I do it with two Syn 2s?
RM4, RT2, three old school Randall modules with one being modded, Syn 2 with TDLX, SLO and 800 modules, Marshall plexi with Jose circuit.

tnjazz
RM100
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 11:57 am
Location: Hermitage, TN
Contact:

Post by tnjazz » Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:27 am

yes, but not with the Synergy footswitch. It will require a different MIDI controller to access all 8 without reprogramming. I use a Fractal FX8 to do this with my setup.
Well it’s been fun...!

RipperShred
RM20
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:25 pm

Re: Syn 2 + Syn 2

Post by RipperShred » Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:19 pm

werdna wrote:I want to run four Syn modules at a time, and have them programmed so that I am able to midi footswitch from one channel to each of the other seven and back. Could I do it with two Syn 2s?
This is what I'm ultimate after too; 8 channels of awesomeness.

Kriig
RM20
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:56 am

Post by Kriig » Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:34 am

I'm hoping for a SYN4 in the future, but i doubt it will come.

TubeMan5150
RM20
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 10:13 am
Location: Wisconsin

Post by TubeMan5150 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:44 pm

I'm running 3 SYN-2's for 12 channels of awesomeness.

I don't have a problem and can stop anytime...
Randall Jaded Faith RM100, Egnater Tourmaster 4100, Egnater Armageddon
Synergy: TDLX, BMAN, DS, BE, HBE, SLO, VH4

Kriig
RM20
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:56 am

Post by Kriig » Thu Mar 21, 2019 11:05 am

How do you hook them up?
One through the other?

RipperShred
RM20
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:25 pm

Post by RipperShred » Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:38 pm

Kriig wrote:How do you hook them up?
One through the other?
I run several preamps in the loops of a Helix Rack, and that makes switching the channels (and different preamps) super convenient and easy. :)

TubeMan5150
RM20
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 10:13 am
Location: Wisconsin

Post by TubeMan5150 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:38 pm

I've got them hooked up like discussed in the Syn-2 manual.

Connecting Multiple SYN2s
Follow the steps below to combine 2 or more SYN2 units. In this connection scheme the first SYN2 in the signal chain is called the “Master” and the second SYN2 is the called the “Slave”.
- Connect your instrument to the Input of the Master unit.
- Run a cable from the "TO AMP IN" of the Master unit to the "INST. IN" on the rear panel of the Slave unit.
- Connect the main output L/MONO of the Slave unit to the "FROM AMP FX SEND" of the Master unit.
- Use the MAIN OUT(s) or the DI output(s) of the MASTER unit to connect to your power amp / monitors.
- Program the Slave with the Master in Bypass Mode.
Note - When using the input on the front panel, the "INST IN" on the back panel is disengaged.
The same procedure is recommended for adding a third, fourth etc. unit to the system
For most systems, it’s recommended that you set your SYN2s to the same MIDI channel. You can follow the
programming instructions above, repeating the steps for each SYN2. When you want to access the second SYN2, make sure that the first SYN2 is set to bypass.

Kriig
RM20
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2019 3:56 am

Post by Kriig » Fri Mar 22, 2019 4:07 pm

Thanks guys :D

ricky
Lynch Box
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:44 pm
Location: Bozeman, MT

Post by ricky » Sat Mar 23, 2019 12:33 pm

Rippershred. Are you putting each SYN2 in a separate loop in the Helix?

RipperShred
RM20
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:25 pm

Post by RipperShred » Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:19 am

ricky wrote:Rippershred. Are you putting each SYN2 in a separate loop in the Helix?
Yeah dude, 4 loops = 4 different preamp units, and in this case syn2 units. I got a syn2 in one loop, an e570 in another, a gp3 in another. Can run several simultaneously, switch channels and/or preamps in the snapshots/scenes with a click of a footswitch and go from clean/chorus/reverb to crunch with a boost to a boosted lead with phaser and delay. It's the shiz-nit. :)

ricky
Lynch Box
Posts: 909
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:44 pm
Location: Bozeman, MT

Post by ricky » Mon Mar 25, 2019 12:10 pm

I use the SYN 2 in one of my Helix loops and then into an M50 head. The Helix is pretty amazing. So basically I have four SYN/JF mods (meaning 8 channels) and I switch between them with the Helix which switches FX if I want.
BTW, what is the GP3?

RipperShred
RM20
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 1:25 pm

Post by RipperShred » Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:58 pm

Fryette/vht valvulator. :D

cmsaub
RM20
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:15 am

Re: Syn 2 + Syn 2

Post by cmsaub » Tue Apr 30, 2019 12:14 pm

immensely helpful... thank you!

Post Reply