Poweramp question

Area for the Synergy line of amps and modules
Post Reply
Lespauled
RM20
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:17 am

Poweramp question

Post by Lespauled » Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:55 pm

I have an unpowered Kemper and I run it into a Seymour Duncan PowerStage into either an FRFR or a 4x12 cabinet (with DI profiles).

I’m planning on getting a Synergy.

My question is can I use the PowerStage? I’m thinking it would sound too bland without the power amp tubes (6L6 or EL34). Am I correct?

mmarsh100
RM20
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 3:30 pm

Re: Poweramp question

Post by mmarsh100 » Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:08 pm

That would probably work well. I'm using a Two Notes C.A.B. M with my SYN1 and I have the power section emulator on. Works brilliantly.

Lespauled
RM20
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:17 am

Re: Poweramp question

Post by Lespauled » Mon Jun 10, 2019 2:24 pm

Awesome. Thanks!!!!

mmarsh100
RM20
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 3:30 pm

Re: Poweramp question

Post by mmarsh100 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 3:37 pm

I amend my response: the PowerStage has it's own, um, power amp, 170 watts worth. The input of the FRFR doesn't want to see an already amplified signal, since it is an amplifier as well. What you need is an un-powered cab, preferably something with a full range and response, just not amplified.

Lespauled
RM20
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:17 am

Re: Poweramp question

Post by Lespauled » Mon Jun 10, 2019 4:31 pm

Thanks. I understand that my FRFR is powered, but my cabinet is not. I was asking about using the following chain:

Guitar => Synergy => PowerStage => Cabinet

Thanks

mmarsh100
RM20
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 3:30 pm

Re: Poweramp question

Post by mmarsh100 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 2:25 pm

I confused myself :) your chain will work fine!

Lespauled
RM20
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:17 am

Re: Poweramp question

Post by Lespauled » Tue Jun 11, 2019 2:45 pm

Good thing. I ordered it this morning. :lol:

danel59
RM20
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 7:38 am

Re: Poweramp question

Post by danel59 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 9:53 am

mmarsh100 wrote:
Sun Jun 09, 2019 9:08 pm
That would probably work well. I'm using a Two Notes C.A.B. M with my SYN1 and I have the power section emulator on. Works brilliantly.
Can you use the C.A.B. M power amp modeling without the cab/ mic modeling?

mmarsh100
RM20
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 30, 2019 3:30 pm

Re: Poweramp question

Post by mmarsh100 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:26 pm

Yes you can. They can be separately switched on and off.

Lespauled
RM20
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:17 am

Re: Poweramp question

Post by Lespauled » Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:37 pm

Let me say that this thing is great!!! Took me a little while to realize the cab sim doesn’t work with anything but XLR. I fought with it for about 15 minutes before reading the manual to confirm my suspicions. RTFM? Lol.

I’ve owned a LynchBox, and loved it, but the portability of this thing is amazing. Definitely way more than the old MTS days.

As of right now, I couldn’t be happier.

Thanks for all your help in making this decision so easy.

Post Reply