MTS Forum Forum Index
Discussion forum for Synergy, Egnater & Randall MTS Amps & Modules
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

FX loop

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Other Randall Amps
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Teraphim
RM20


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:14 pm    Post subject: FX loop Reply with quote

What is the effect loop, and how do i use it? I've never been into this stuff before...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Scooter
RM100


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 373
Location: S.E.Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know which amp you have but...

On the back of your amp is an input and an output jack labeled FX Send and FX Return. It is basically a signal path from the preamp to the power amp.

Time based effects and EQ's work well here in my opinion.

Plug the SEND of the loop into the INPUT of your effects, and plug the OUT from your effects into the RETURN of the loop.


(Is that what you were asking?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
twistedgraffix
RM20


Joined: 24 Oct 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The preamp makes your sound and the power amp adds the volume for the most part. Some effects do better after the distortion is put into the sound than before like scooter said. Experiment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Teraphim
RM20


Joined: 05 Jan 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a RH150G3. Thanks alot!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
JJLeo77
RM20


Joined: 04 Mar 2007
Posts: 8
Location: St. Paul MN

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, in your opinion where would one put a noise gate? In the effects loop or out front?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheAbomb12
RM100


Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 279
Location: Bonita, CA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Serial Effects loop. Unless your distortion comes from pedals- in which case, it should be the last pedal in the signal chain.
_________________
ESP/LTD EC-1000
Ibanez RGT42DXFM (Seymour Duncan Blackouts)
Maxon OD808
TC Electronics G-major
Framus Cobra V2
Cobra 4x12 Slant Cabinet
Hughes and Kettner CC412B (Greenbacks)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Other Randall Amps All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group