Tube headaches with my Lynchbox

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TORMENT FAKTORY

Reaction score
A couple years ago I bought an RM100 Lynchbox from a good friend of mine who used to visit these parts 'till he went traitor on us and bought a Peavey 5150 after selling me the Lynchbox. Shortly after purchasing this amp I replaced the EL-34's with a set of JJ 6L6's. I am no electronics expert by any means, so when I did this I had him talk me through it step by step. Well, yesterday I decided to upgrade to a matched set of JJ KT88's, but didn't have the benefit of having him talk me through it so I attempted to do it from memory. Again, I am no electronics expert, and because in my first attempt I didn't have the multimeter on the right setting I drastically over biased the tubes and proceeded to play through the amplifier for a couple hours. It sounded very good actually...for about two hours anyway, then I switched to my clean channel and immediately noticed that it sounded very "dirty", like it had a tube screamer in front of it or something. I immediately put the amplifier in standby and allowed the tubes to cool a bit, then finally was able to get ahold of the friend I mentioned earlier and had him talk me through setting the presets on the multimeter and re check the bias. When I checked the reading on the multimeter, each tube was showing well over 200ma, and as I mentioned earlier I had been playing for at least 2 hours with them on this bias level. I quickly re-adjusted the bias on each tube to around 50ma (a little high because the type of music I play usually requires very high gain levels), but now the amplifier sounds little better than when it had the 6L6's, and the gain seems to get a little bit weaker as time goes by while I play. While the amp is on, all four tubes still have the orange glow to them, and none of the tube fault lights i