Getting a good tone out of Randall Isolation Cab.

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hypeboom

Reaction score
Hello guys,

It's really hard to get or share an info about Randall Isolation Cab.
Anybody using one?
I own one and have been trying to get a good tone out of it but man..
It just doesn't give me !!
I'm not a newbie to recording world but it's really hard to get a good tone out of it.
I use 57 and 906, and wherever I place them around the speaker, what I get is just BOOMY, very reflective sound.
I guess it's just becuase of the fact that it's small closed box, so the sound reflects the wall like crazy...correct me if I'm wrong..
And most importantly, it is not quiet!! still LOUD, impossible to use it at night.
I feel like I need another Iso.Cab for my Randall Iso Cab.

Any feedback will be appreciated.
Thanks a lot.

:idea: Do you use anything to dampen the sound at all? When we do all of our recording we use house hold objects to get rid of all the reflections. Pillows and Duvets mainly.....

Well, yeah I've set 3" auralex inside the box.
But not helping..Since it's a closed box, not sure what to do..
Could u give me some detail ideas??
Thanks a lot!

I have one and what I've done is nothing revolutionary, but here it is:
-added 2" auralex on all sides of internal chamber (where the speaker and mic are)

-built a basic platform on casters with 3/4" plywood and 4 casters from home depot (about $10)

-between the caster platform and the iso cab, I put a 1" thick piece of some white, semi-rigid packing material to, hopefully, further decouple the cab from the floor.

I'm about to do some serious recording and will know the results better when it comes mix time, but the test tracks I recorded were very good I thought.