Studio Buildout Pics

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike P

Reaction score
I renovated and soundproofed a 19'x15'x9' room in my home back in 2012 as my new studio. I've been recording exclusively in this room since September 2012. It took me a month or so to get familiar with the sound of the room (and led to remixing most of my catalog!) but I'm very happy with the results.

I've linked pics below. Enjoy!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/66213926@N03/sets/72157641769593325/

Mattfig said:
Really nice Mike...I like the guitar closet idea!

Thanks, Matt! The closet and doors also have treatment, which is where my bass and guitar cabs are mic'd. I didn't think to take pic but I'll get to it soon and add another link.

I added a few pics of the cabinet closet. I used a combination of 705 panels, Auralex diffusers and Markertek 3" foam to treat the closet. Each cab sits on its own Auralex Great Gramma to de-couple it from the floor.

It's all kinda ugly but effective in eliminating phasing and other issues.

Doesn't look ugly at all.. looks kinda sweet. Some great ideas there. The way you hung the guitars in the closet off those wooden slats. Do those have any diffusion properties or do they just look cool?

My space is just about finished but it doesn't look half as cool as what you have. I might just post some pics when i get the DIY gobos up around the cab.

Kapo_Polenton said:
Doesn't look ugly at all.. looks kinda sweet. Some great ideas there. The way you hung the guitars in the closet off those wooden slats. Do those have any diffusion properties or do they just look cool?

My space is just about finished but it doesn't look half as cool as what you have. I might just post some pics when i get the DIY gobos up around the cab.