It all starts with the pick!

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

audiomidijace

Reaction score
I've been using the same brand and model of guitar pick for 20 years. I **** you not! It's a Clayton Acetal teardrop. In the last few years a switched from .63mm to .80mm. Somehow I manage not to lose too many of them so I've been using the same picks for quite a while. I decided to order some fresh ones and to try some 1.00mm as well. When I went to the website I saw they had the same teardrop shape pick in something called Ultem. So I ordered some of those in .94mm. The new Acetal .80mm did feel much firmer then my old ones so that was a good move. The 1.00 feel pretty stiff, so I may not use them. But I was blown away with the "sound" of the Ultem picks! They have so much more attack and everything sounds SO much clearer! When I switch back to the Acetal it sounds muffled and compressed. 20 years of muffled and compressed!!!
As picky as we are (See what I did there?) about our modules, tubes, cables, etc. We should take the time to try out some different picks to improve our tone as well.

dsmetal14 said:
Do you know what material the Ultem picks are made of?

This is all they say about them:

Ultem is remarkable for creating crisp clean tones, on even the dullest of strings. This pick is made of the highest grade material to ensure your guitar produces the cleanest, brightest tone available. This pick closely resembles the true sound of actual tortoiseshell that is so widely desired. However, it will not fracture like tortoiseshell and is one of the strongest picks on the market.

I like the ones with the pot leaf on 'em. And certain styles I also like metal picks (especially when using a pick on bass, which I don't always do.)

Jazz iii XL ultex are a winner for me lately. Way more attack than the old dunlop nylons I've used for so many years.