MTS Forum Forum Index
Discussion forum for Synergy, Egnater & Randall MTS Amps & Modules
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

RM22 Footswitch
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Modules
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Taipan
RM20


Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 12:08 am    Post subject: RM22 Footswitch Reply with quote

Hi Guys
I hope im asking in the wright place ,
I just bought a second hand RM22 but the guy never had the footswitch
Looking around there dont seem to be any for sale

Looking through a few old threads there dont seem to be any schematics
on the foot switch either to make my own

Just wondering has anyone come up with a way to channel switch the RM22
without the original footswitch ?

I have tried my footswitch for the RM100 but that dosent do anything
Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusiciansFriend.com's Deal Center
buriedorburned
Lynch Box


Joined: 09 Dec 2007
Posts: 840
Location: Calgary, AB

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The 22 takes the same footswitch as an RM50. It's a Randall RF1, they're very easy to come by, and fairly cheap.
_________________
Synergy SYN-1 / Friedman BE / MTS Plexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
galao
Donating Member


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The RM22 footswitch has of course nothing to do with the RF1. It uses a DIN connector but no MIDI protocol. The channel switching of the RM22 is based on a AT89C4051 microcontroller. The heart of the PCB inside the footswitch is a programmed PIC chip. This is definitely not a DIY project.
_________________
DUAL CHANNEL MODS
https://yuneo.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaded Faith
Moderator


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 2658
Location: Hamilton, NJ

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Galao is correct on all counts. These are NLA, require a custom controller and a DIY solution is not an option. You will have no option but to watch the markets for one available unfortunately.
_________________
www.jadedfaithmods.com
https://www.facebook.com/JadedFaithMods
Email: info@jadedfaithmods.com
Authorized Service Center for US Music and Egnater
Authorized Reseller for Celestion, Scumback & Mercury Magnetics
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
buriedorburned
Lynch Box


Joined: 09 Dec 2007
Posts: 840
Location: Calgary, AB

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, my bad. The page I read indeed lists the RF1 as compatible with the RM20 and RM50, but not the RM22. Sorry!
_________________
Synergy SYN-1 / Friedman BE / MTS Plexi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Taipan
RM20


Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys
I thought it would not be an easy pedal to make

Can someone tell me the actual name/code for the RM22 footswitch

Searching the internet isnt doing much when I type in RM22 footswitch
I need to be more specific

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
galao
Donating Member


Joined: 05 Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2016 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The footswitch has no name or code. They were only sold with the RM22 amps and I would doubt that someone sells one seperately except he lost his amp and the only thing left is the footswitch. Laughing
_________________
DUAL CHANNEL MODS
https://yuneo.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Taipan
RM20


Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shocked
Hmm so is there any other way to channel switch the amp ?

I dont even care about the boost modes , just want to switch channels at gigs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mfgobbi
RM100


Joined: 27 Feb 2014
Posts: 151
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Taipan wrote:
Shocked
Hmm so is there any other way to channel switch the amp ?

I dont even care about the boost modes , just want to switch channels at gigs


There is a button on the amp's front panel.
_________________
RM4, RT2/50, RM100, and a mod or 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Capt_Tippy
RM100


Joined: 19 Jul 2016
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mfgobbi wrote:

There is a button on the amp's front panel.

Shocked

Bwhahahahaa Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

Taipan wrote:
Shocked
Hmm so is there any other way to channel switch the amp ?

I dont even care about the boost modes , just want to switch channels at gigs


If you were motivated and brave/skilled enough to do it, you could hack that button on the front of the amp, and build a single button footswitch to control the channels. Its just a momentary button. All you'd have to do is attach the wires to a 1/4" jack and run it to a foot pedal.
_________________
Moral of the story, buy extra tubes, and don't pay up charges. Good luck, cause tube buying is a crap shoot.

You're correct. I probably have no idea what I'm talking about. I'm not even sure why I bothered to say anything in the 1st place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Taipan
RM20


Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bit hard to press bottons while playing in the middle of a song
getting it spot on without missing a note

Anyway thanks for the input guys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
audiomidijace
Donating Member


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 1498
Location: Newbury Park, CA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might try to contact Randall. There's a chance they might still have a few hanging around. Good luck!
_________________
RM50, Orange PPC412 w Celestion V30s.
Modules: SG-MK22, JF Twox .
Pickups:MotorCity & BareKnuckle
Dunlop 95Q Wah, TC Nova System, Wampler Tumnus
AVID ELEVEN RACK & Atomic Amplifier 12
Transactions:Lots!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Taipan
RM20


Joined: 30 Jul 2015
Posts: 16
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

audiomidijace wrote:
You might try to contact Randall. There's a chance they might still have a few hanging around. Good luck!


Yeah Thats my next step , just in case I couldn't get any help there
Im looking for alternative switching devices

Cheers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tschrama
RM100


Joined: 04 Jun 2014
Posts: 207
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't it just a mono jack? than prolly any footswitch will work.. be it Marshall.. Mesa.. Peavey.. I use then interchangebly.. or make ur own for 10 bucks
_________________
my small atelier called 's-Gravenmade | Follow me www.sgravenmade.com | Join my Amp Building Workshop 14 april 2018

Good deals with: C2ply, BenMesaBoog, YouguitarHero, nitrous12, kylendm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Capt_Tippy
RM100


Joined: 19 Jul 2016
Posts: 279

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No its not a mono jack. That's why I suggested he could hack the button and add his own mono jack to the amp.
_________________
Moral of the story, buy extra tubes, and don't pay up charges. Good luck, cause tube buying is a crap shoot.

You're correct. I probably have no idea what I'm talking about. I'm not even sure why I bothered to say anything in the 1st place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MTS Forum Forum Index -> Modules All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group