Syn2 and Helix LT looper

Area for the Synergy line of amps and modules
Post Reply
markb3767
RM20
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:24 am

Syn2 and Helix LT looper

Post by markb3767 » Thu Mar 19, 2020 7:40 am

Does anyone know how to program MIDI for the Helix LT and Syn2 to use the Helix looper function?
I have tried presets and snapshots but the Syn2 keeps gong back to Bypass on the Syn2 as soon as I engage the looper.
Thanks!

richantonelli
RM20
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:26 am

Re: Syn2 and Helix LT looper

Post by richantonelli » Sun Mar 29, 2020 9:09 am

I'm having the same issue with the big helix and the syn-2. It's definitely a midi issue. The helix looper is somehow sending a midi command that makes the syn-2 change to bypass mode. It's driving me crazy and I haven't found anyone that can figure this out.

guitarzan
Donating Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:50 pm

Re: Syn2 and Helix LT looper

Post by guitarzan » Sun Mar 29, 2020 12:02 pm

It looks like there is a shared Midi cc message. A CC60 (value} command will trigger the “Overdub" on the Helix. That's also the Midi CC command for bypass on the Syn2. You would need to set the Helix and Syn2 on different midi channels. It's probably easier to put the Syn 2 on a different channel. It's a lot less commands to re-program on your midi footswitch.
Syn1, Syn2, Syn50/50, MOD50, M4, Hilly's RM100 modded to dual, RM4 modded to dual channel. G-Major 2, Eventide Eclipse, Mesa 20/20, Fryette Powerstation, Friedman Smallbox Combo, 1979 Marshall JMP 50 modded to BE/HBE by Friedman. Tons of modules.

richantonelli
RM20
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:26 am

Re: Syn2 and Helix LT looper

Post by richantonelli » Sun Mar 29, 2020 12:31 pm

guitarzan wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 12:02 pm
It looks like there is a shared Midi cc message. A CC60 (value} command will trigger the “Overdub" on the Helix. That's also the Midi CC command for bypass on the Syn2. You would need to set the Helix and Syn2 on different midi channels. It's probably easier to put the Syn 2 on a different channel. It's a lot less commands to re-program on your midi footswitch.
I've been trying that but I can't get the syn-2 to change channels via midi unless it's in OMNI mode for some reason.

guitarzan
Donating Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:50 pm

Re: Syn2 and Helix LT looper

Post by guitarzan » Sun Mar 29, 2020 6:17 pm

There's a midi switch on the back of the Syn 2 for selecting the midi channel. It's probably set on Omni which receives data from any midi channel. You need to flip that switch to the right and then pick a midi channel like 2 on the rotary dial. You need a small screwdriver for that. After that the Syn 2 will only respond to commands on that channel.
Syn1, Syn2, Syn50/50, MOD50, M4, Hilly's RM100 modded to dual, RM4 modded to dual channel. G-Major 2, Eventide Eclipse, Mesa 20/20, Fryette Powerstation, Friedman Smallbox Combo, 1979 Marshall JMP 50 modded to BE/HBE by Friedman. Tons of modules.

richantonelli
RM20
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:26 am

Re: Syn2 and Helix LT looper

Post by richantonelli » Mon Mar 30, 2020 4:11 am

guitarzan wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 6:17 pm
There's a midi switch on the back of the Syn 2 for selecting the midi channel. It's probably set on Omni which receives data from any midi channel. You need to flip that switch to the right and then pick a midi channel like 2 on the rotary dial. You need a small screwdriver for that. After that the Syn 2 will only respond to commands on that channel.
That’s the thing. I know about the switch. I can only get the Syn-2 to respond to midi when it’s set to Omni. Nothing works with any of the channels when the switch is set to select. This would solve my problem.

I also just checked the dip switch positions and those were already correct.

richantonelli
RM20
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:26 am

Re: Syn2 and Helix LT looper

Post by richantonelli » Mon Mar 30, 2020 8:25 am

Did a live stream this morning about what I'm experiencing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=supxj_wcZ7Y

guitarzan
Donating Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:50 pm

Re: Syn2 and Helix LT looper

Post by guitarzan » Mon Mar 30, 2020 10:01 pm

I watched the video Rich. You're doing all the right things. Seems like maybe you got a bad midi board on the Syn 2. The only other thing I can think of trying is to send a program change(PC) instead of CC. That sends a preset number and that is where the press and hold button on the Syn 2 works. The press and hold doesn't work with CCs. Midi is awesome when it's set up and working like it should. It can be a real dick too. Good luck! I hope maybe the PC will work.
Syn1, Syn2, Syn50/50, MOD50, M4, Hilly's RM100 modded to dual, RM4 modded to dual channel. G-Major 2, Eventide Eclipse, Mesa 20/20, Fryette Powerstation, Friedman Smallbox Combo, 1979 Marshall JMP 50 modded to BE/HBE by Friedman. Tons of modules.

Post Reply