Rack FX & Randall

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grant S

Reaction score
Hey there,

I have a GSP2101 Studio Processor / Preamp with a ton of effects that I dig, however I am new to this and do not necessarily know how to incorporate this unit with my main rig.

I want to introduce my amp (RG100 ES Randall) to this effects unit, and use the rack unit as more of a pedal. I want to be able to go from the distorted randall amp and switch over to the fx on the rack unit just by pushing a button, but I can't seem to get this to work/and or don't know how.

When I press bypass on my rack unit, it gives me a nice clean sound (although not what I'm looking for.) What I want is the distortion from the amp. I do not have a footswitch for the amp, so I have been using my rhythim pickup at about 4 volume on the knob for clean sounds.

I still want to be able to get clean sounds, so am I going to have to switch over on the rack unit when I do?

I don't know very much about operating this rack unit, but what I do know is I don't like the distortion it has to offer; therefor I want to be using the RG100ES.

When I normally use my amp, I put a distortion pedal in front of it... Would it be wise to switch to a distortion setting on my rack unit and then feed it into the RG100ES so it acts a pedal?

I don't even know where to begin setting this thing up, should my cable run to the FX processor, then the amp, then the cab? Should I put it in the FX loop on the amp? How do I do this?

This post is huge, so thank you for bearing with me. I know jack all about this; and it is unlikely that my post even makes sense. Hopefully you can understand what I'm trying to say.

Thank you in advance.

Here is what you want to do:

Guitar -> GSP2101 Input
GSP2101 FX Loop Send -> RG100 Input
RG100 FX Loop Send -> GSP2101 FX Loop Return (mono left)