Best Randall "Own Brand" Module

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DC Widowmaker

Reaction score
Something I've always wondered, since getting my RM100, is whether it gives Randall amplifiers much credibility to be copying other manufacturers amp sounds. I mean, sure it's great that they designed such a versatile tool, but using a Randall amp to try and achieve a sound designed by a non-Randall amp is kinda like asking your girlfriend to dress up as Megan Fox ;). I'd like to try and keep at least one Randall original in my rig.

Anyway, in honour of Randall, what do you feel are the best modules which represent an original Randall sound? How do they compare to the Marshall, Fender, Orange etc copy modules?

Welcome to the forum. :)

I'm relatively new to the world of Randall as well. But from experience, the Ultra, Ultra XL and Modern are all Randall's own sound - not trying to emulate any other amps.

All I'm sure there are plenty more out there, but these are the ones I've had experience with and can recommend. I think the 1086 is pretty unique to Randall, but people say it's a Marshall/Mesa hybrid.

Off the top of my head I think the only original Randall modules are Clean, Modern, Ultra Lead, Ultra, Ultra XL...I've used them all except the Ultra Lead...so I'd have to say the XL is the ultimate Randall tone, pure high gain.

Greg

gweb said:
Off the top of my head I think the only original Randall modules are Clean, Modern, Ultra Lead, Ultra, Ultra XL...I've used them all except the Ultra Lead...so I'd have to say the XL is the ultimate Randall tone, pure high gain.

Greg
Yup! For "Randalls" own.....
The Ultra XL.
Not a copycat and its mean as hell! 8)
Signature models?
Modded out 1086! :D

I am totally up for a fresh ,new original Module. Theres more to good tone besides the Marshall or Fender world-view.