Changing amp channels and FX rack

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GuitarGod87

Reaction score
So I'm totally new to racks. I only own a 882i Sonic Maximizer so far. I'm looking to purchase a effects rack unit but a few questions arose. Does the rack effects processor change the amp channel? Or does the pedal change the amp channel? I'm looking at a TC Gforce and TC Gsystem. Both seem very well, but are there any other processors that change channels and also have a usb interface/port that's a bit cheaper? Sorry if it seems like I'm rambling, but it's a bit late and I just finished with finals. I hope to clear this up soon. Keep rocking on!

depends on what gear you're running and what you plan to do with it.

You will probably want some kind of foot controller, particularly if you want to change channels/presets on the fly on stage. If your amp has midi, you can control the amp and most modern fx units with the single foot controller. If the amp doesn't have midi, some foot controllers can still switch channels on the amp, and some fx units have the ability to change channels for you too.

So once you've got the gear together, it's a matter of programming it all so that when you step on THAT button, THIS fx preset is selected with THAT channel of your amp. How you do that will depend on all the various bits of gear you piece together.

It can sound daunting, but once you have a basic understanding, it comes together fairly quickly.

GuitarGod87 said:
My amp is midi, so it's just the foot controller and not the rack that changes channels?

some racks have 'midi out' function (able to control other pieces from the rack)
but in general you'll mostly see 'midi through'
(what the pedal sends simply gets sent through to the next piece in line)

for simple setups, midi through wil work to use a pedal number to change all units, to the same channel