Describe the VHT tone (and/or suggest my next mod purchase)

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Whoopysnorp

Reaction score
I'm not a gigging guitarist at the moment; I'm actually a drummer in the bands I'm in now (though I'm a much more competent guitarist than drummer). I play at home for fun and also do some recording (some projects just for fun, others for hire for a composer/producer friend of mine). I love the MTS platform because I find it inspiring to have lots of different high-quality tones at my disposal. Right now I own the following six modules:

Jaded Faith Super Clean: I think this covers me pretty well for Fender-type tones.
Jaded Faith Voxless: no explanation necessary here. In addition to providing Beatles-y cleans, this does great mid-gain tones on the Matchless side.
Salvation Mandarine Graphic: provides a third flavor of clean and of course medium-gain Orange crunch.
Sacred Grove MK22: covers my classic Marshall needs with aplomb.
Randall XTC with Jaded Faith base mod: this seems to sound pretty close to various red channel modded XTC clips I've heard. It's one of my favorites and excels at the thick chewy sound, though sometimes I wish it had more midrange available.
Sacred Groove Diablo: the thickest Recto chunk imaginable.

I also have a Mesa Studio Preamp that I use at home along with my MTS preamp. In my rehearsal space, a Mark III and a Rivera M100 live next to my Randall RM100.

So I have a lot of bases covered here, and there aren't too many other modules out there I feel like I need. Rob's VHT module has me intrigued, though. I feel like this might provide me some tight modern high-gain flavor that I don't currently have. I don't think I've heard any good clips of this module, so can anybody summarize what it's all about?