Plexi vs Metroplex

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
mightytheo said:
Thanks for the information which is absolutely helpful. Out of curiosity, why are you also ordering the Plexi module?

I'm a TV composer, so I need many different guitar amps in order to accurately cover a multitude of genres. I'm currently working on a Brit Rock album and all of my current modules are too modern sounding, so a Plexi with various fuzz pedals should allow me to dial in accurate and killer tones.

I'm told that the Plexi will be available by mid-week, so I'll head down to the shop when it's ready and will report back. I'm also hoping to grab a Bogner Ecstasy this week as well but it depends on availability.

Mike P said:
I still haven't had a chance to record the Metro for the purpose of an example clip but the Blue Channel is definitely much cleaner with an NOS GE 5751 in V1 and while it doesn't make the Red channel any cleaner, it has "cleaned" up and tightened up the Red Channel considerably.

I placed an order for a new Plexi module yesterday but they're backordered, so it'll be a few weeks before I'm able to do direct-comparison clips but will do so as soon as time permits.

Would you say that it is different enough that having a metroplex with a 5751 and a metroplex with the original 12ax7 would sound like 4 different channels? I love the metroplex module, and if I could get some real cleans and a different sounding gain/overdrive channel I'd be tempted to buy another one.

ecantwell said:
Would you say that it is different enough that having a metroplex with a 5751 and a metroplex with the original 12ax7 would sound like 4 different channels? I love the metroplex module, and if I could get some real cleans and a different sounding gain/overdrive channel I'd be tempted to buy another one.

Oh, most definitely not.