Salvation Chupacabra review

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bito

Reaction score
Hi, I'm Bito, after months of lurking, I've decided to write my first topic to review my first modded module: the Salvation Chupacabra.

Oh, and sorry for my english, I'm french.

To put thing in context:
I'm new to MTS. I bought a used RM-50 with a recto module a few months ago. Few weeks later, I bought a used KH-1 to have a clean sound to accompany my high gain module.
The recto never satisfied me: too boomy, too loose,etc

After hearing of Salvation works, I decided to mod my recto to find a module that's versatile, tight with low tunings and that can go from from blues rock to metal.

Antonin advised me some modules and I decided to take a Chupacabra even if it lacked the notoriety of other mods like the Salvado or the Mamba

And I made the right choice.
This module fucking rocks.
I've found a great sound for everything from blues rock to Death Metal.
What defines most this amp is its versatility, its tightness, its articulation and its schizophrenia because with the mid voicing switch, you don't get one but three amps in one module.

It's one of the most plug and play amp I've ever used.
All switch combinations are usable and give interesting sounds.
You don't have to fight to get a great sound.
You don't need a tube screamer to get tight sound with low tunings

Apart from the traditionnal Gain/EQ/Volume knobs, two switch are present and make this module different from others.
Gate: noise gate that's quite useful on high gain settings
Claw switch:choice between low gain/ mid gain / high gain
Growl switch: the most important switch to me.
It changes the voicing of the mids so much that it gives you the impression that you have 3 different amps.

- Left side: Marshall vibe: a real Marshall vibe, excellent with low gain settings for a blues rock/ hard rock tone.