To feel or not to feel

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

j4q0

Reaction score
Dear fellow members,

I'm in need of some guidance in the MTS realm as I can't figure out what the problem would be.

I like quite a lot the color and tone I get from the modules I have yet this "feel" thing is not quite right and it has been addressed and discussed on several occasions yet never from the point of view of an RM4 + power amp if I'm not mistaken.

The simplest way to put this is to say that imagine you're trying to play artificial harmonics and the rig just wont give them to you. This translates in my ears almost as if I'm playing through a broken overdrive/distortion box in front of an amp.
I'm new to the MTS world but I'm not a new player so the solution to this is just escaping my hands and I'm in need of some direction and/or help.
I've tried swapping tubes in the modules, in the RM4, swapping cables connecting the RM4 to the power amp, using several guitars, pickups.

But what is most disconcerting is that this "feel issue" just doesn't happen when using the same rig with the exception of a different preamp, an MP1 or a Mesa Quad as an example. Playing the other preamps will just feel and sound fuller and "right" compared to the RM4.
Forgot to mention that I'm using the preamps into the power section of a 5153 50w.

I will appreciate very much any comment, suggestion, insight that anyone can share about this matter.

Thanks in advance for the responses.

J.

j4q0 said:
But what is most disconcerting is that this "feel issue" just doesn't happen when using the same rig with the exception of a different preamp, an MP1 or a Mesa Quad as an example. Playing the other preamps will just feel and sound fuller and "right" compared to the RM4.
Forgot to mention that I'm using the preamps into the power section of a 5153 50w.