MIDI channel info needed for Randall gear

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goldsparkletop

Reaction score
My new RM4 isn't responding to MIDI program changes from my Behringer FCB1010. I am not a novice to MIDI, and my other gear is still responding to the FCB1010, so I don't think the problem is there.

I am guessing the RM4 is merely set to receive on another MIDI channel than what my FCB1010 is sending. I am also assuming there are some dip switches of some sort inside the RM4 that will allow you to change the MIDI channel. I tried to take the top off the RM4 last night to take a look, but much to my dismay, half the screws were installed crooked and a couple of them stripped and will not come out. (I like Randall gear, but I have to say that this my second piece of gear in a row from Randall that came with crooked screws that strip as soon as you try to turn them. :x )

When you get done laughing at my inability to remove some simple screws, I'd appreciate any info on Randall's default MIDI channel and how to change it. What channel is set at the factory, exactly where the dip switches are located, how they should be configured to be in OMNI mode, etc.

This SHOULD have all been included in the manual...which BTW wasn't even included with my NEW RM4, but which I found on line.

Gary

You will have to open up the amp and check the dip switches. If I remember correctly they should all be set to on. My RT2/50 & RM4 were acting peculiar too and I had to change the internal settings. If you stripped the head of the screw out, try using a square or hex drive bit in the remains. Oversize it slightly and tap it in with a hammer ofr extra bite if you have to. My XTLive works in OMNI now.
~Kurt