Egnater module setup or AxeFX?

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caseygree

Reaction score
Hey all,

I've been rocking my Egnater Mod 50 for about 5 months now. Love it, but have been intrigued by the AxeFX hype, especially with the Ultra getting cheaper and cheaper.

I started with 6 modules, and have since sold the Bman and the COD. Am now selling my VX module as well and keeping only the SL2, EG5 and the T/D.

Was curious to hear opinions from those of you who have tried both the Axe and the Mod series. Pros and cons? Power amp recos? Wish you still had one over the other? Anyone run the Axe through a Mod? (or would that make no sense whatsoever??)

Thanks,
Casey

caseygree said:
Anyone run the Axe through a Mod? (or would that make no sense whatsoever??)

Thanks,
Casey

I can help with the theory of this part.

You could do what I do with my GSP, setup the MOD and Axe in 4CM to use the Axe as an effects only processor with no am or cab sims, but that seems like overkill.

If you wanted to use the amp sims on the Axe, you could plug it straight into the FX return, making the MOD a power amp. Or, if there is a module you really like, have a clean, neutral sounding module to switch to when you want to use the Axe for an amp sim.

The question you need to ask is will you really use all of the Axe features? If you are after only a few tones, stick with the MOD.

I was wondering the same thing myself!

I have a GSP-1101 and the amp modeling on that is pretty impressive! I wonder how much better the AxeFX or Eleven Rack are, because the 1101 gets some pretty good tones through my EL34 100/100 and 1960B's for well under 500.00

I'm interested to see where this post goes

Good Topic!

H

Yes

If you need to have a headphone apt. studio, and have $$$ coming out your rear, then the AxeFX is the latest and greatest!