Series and Parallel Effects loop question?

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NgrungeBB91

Reaction score
Hi, im new to my RM100, but what is the difference between using those effects areas than just hooking up the effects to each other then hook them to the input like normal, whats so special about these series and parallel loops??? This is a list of effects i want to get soon if this helps out with my question, thanks..
-------
Boss RV-5 Digital Reverb
Boss TR-2 Tremolo
Boss DD-7 Digital Delay
Dunlop DB-01 Dimebag Crybaby From Hell Wah

It's all a possibility. Try 'em out and see what you like best. The only and most important advice there is. After all, you have to like the sound!

Onto the differences, as is implied in the names Series simply puts out the sound and cabling puts it through its various pedals/rackgear/whatever. Paralell also does that, but when it returns it is mixed with the original sound. In short... Series is perfect for tonal/pitch alteration (distortion, wah, equalizers, whammy, detunes, etc.), paralell for time altering effects like chorus, flanging and delays.

As to why put the pedals in the loops instead of in front of the amp? Where do you get your overdrive? If it is the amp, and you use a Reverb pedal for example then your reverb is being overdriven as well. This may sound like a tonal experiment, but most of the time it is cringeworthy. Put the Reverb in either loop and the reverb is not overdriven... Sound is nice :) If you get your overdrive from a stomp box it doesn't really matter. You can try the experiment by placing the reverb before and after the stomp box though.

My setup is as follows: Guitar > Wah > Whammy > Overdrive > Amp >(series) Volume > Multi effector for reverb, delay, mod > Amp (return).