Boutique amp builder mods?

Synergy/MTS Forum

Help Support Synergy/MTS Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhequiem

Reaction score
So, a friend of mine just got back from NAMM and was regaling me with some of the cool amps he got to see when he was there. It got me thinking... You hear so much good press about some of the boutique amp builders like Fortin, Cameron, Splawn, Friedman, etc - would it make any sense for any of our talented modders to develop a module around these amps (or certain channels therof), or are these amps essentially just different flavors of amps already out there now for which we already have module access to (Marshall, hot-rodded Marshall, etc)?

I haven't got to play any of these boutique amps personally, so I have no experience or frame of reference with which to say whether or not existing mods can match these or not, or whether or not it would be worth it to develop a module around any of these.

Friedman does MTS mods, I dunno what his username on here is though.

The issue with boutiques would probably be is there enough of a market for one to justify a modder doing the R and D to create the module. Maybe you could ask one of them if they would do a one-off.

I understand that Friedman does MTS mods, but I wasn't real sure how accurate they were to his Friedman amp line. I'm fairly certain, with his reputation and skill, Friedman is *crazy* busy with other stuff (like his amp line) to devote too much thought to the MTS line. I could be wrong, but it seems reasonable.